Our Customer Reviews

Iceland RV Rental

Average 4.8 stars out of 5
Based on: 55 reviews

Please enjoy this unique forum.
And remember, it's cheaper to book via IdeaMerge.
We are all about best price, transparency and service.

5 stars: 46
4 stars: 5
3 stars: 4
2 stars: 0
1 stars: 0

 

Unforgetable trip

We rented the motorhome from 28th of october to 4th of november to do the south part of Iceland and we had an amazing time! We were two couples and we both slept very well and had lunch and dinner every day together inside the car! We thought it would get cold at night but the heater was more than enough. It was a great way of saving money and i totally recommend doing Iceland with a motorhome because you can park pretty much anywhere you want. You can overnight in front of a waterfall or even at the base of jokursalon glacier. At night you can’t see anything but when the day comes the view is always breathtaking. We paid for a camping place only one night out of the 7 nights we spent in iceland. If you organize properly you will save money there as well. The company was great since check in until our check out! They give you a “tablet” that you can write to them if you have any technical issue so that was very helpful and made us feel safe ;) really would love to go back to Iceland and do the north part now! Definately with a motorhome again! I loved it!

Dubai, posted on 4 December 2017 , vendor was Touring Cars

Epic Iceland vacation

Booking our trip's rental thru IdeaMerge gave us the peace of mind that when arriving in a foreign country, our trip would go off without a hitch.

We were able to email IdeaMerge up until the last minute to ensure everything was squared away. When we arrived, Touring Cars was there as soon as they opened to pick us up and get us to the RV site. They provided us a great RV in excellent condition along with all the essentials we would need in the cold Icelandic wild. Most importantly, they went over all the SAFETY details that people unfamiliar with an RV may not know. Road safety, weather conditions, and other unknown variables pop up all the time in Iceland - the weather changes every 5 minutes! Knowing how to safely operate the vehicle ensured our trip was amazing.

We would absolutely recommend both IdeaMerge and Touring Cars for a future vacation - not just in Iceland, but anywhere in Europe they provide service.

United States, posted on 22 November 2017 , vendor was Touring Cars

Wonderful time

We were met promptly at the airport, and taken to the van handover. Due to weather conditions we couldn't commence travelling but the Touring Cars team couldn't be more helpful with assisting with shopping and finding us a safe parking spot for the night till the weather cleared.

Very friendly, knowledgable and friendly team at Touring Cars. Edgars was particularly helpful and informative to our needs and requirements.

The van was very tidy and clean and exactly as promised on the website, we had a few small requests that were happily accommodated. We returned the van on the due date and Edgars was on the spot to check the van and sign it off.

The how to manage the van - video was a great idea and we took notes. The back to base internet was also a great idea, and very handy in the off season for weather and advice during the trip.

We couldn't fault Touring Cars, Iceland at all

kind regards

Australia, posted on 8 November 2017 , vendor was Touring Cars

Excellent

Overall amazing trip and experience!

McRent accommodated a few changes we made to our trip, they were super professional and helpful on the day.

Great information on road trips and areas to avoid.

Only draw back was we did not receive the weather text messages due to service issues, but the emails were spot on and very helpful!

Great selection of vehicles available, very clean and well maintained.

Thank you guys!!!!

Dubai, posted on 29 October 2017 , vendor was McRent Iceland

Good times!

Great guys, excellent service and beautiful motorhomes.

I was greeted at the airport and taken to the facility to check in and go over the motorhome. The guys were professional, friendly and very knowledgable. They definetly make sure your comfortable before sending you off in the wild!

Checking out was just as painless and once again they were a pleasure to deal with.

I would definetly reccomend seeing Iceland in a motorhome. The freedom to come and go as you please was great. The motorhomes are first class and are equipped with everything one needs.

Well done IdeaMerge!

Thank you so much for the seamless rental from start to finish.

Bret

Canada, posted on 25 October 2017 , vendor was Touring Cars

Excellent experience

Rented from McRent, met by staff on arrival, taken to their outstanding nearby facility, paperwork was straight forward and quick, RV was in very good condition, everything worked as advertised, no issues whatsoever. Mc Rent was very good in sending weather warnings when warranted, despite they said they’d sent SMS which were never received they followed it with emails which were received in a timely manner. The entire ring road trip was an Amazon adventure and it could not have been done any way other than on a camper, return was just as easy as pickup.

Would like to add that we had to make changes before the actal trio dates and McRent accommodated the changes without much trouble.

Overall good experience from dealing with IdeaMerge to Mc Rent

UAE, posted on 9 October 2017 , vendor was McRent Iceland

EXCELLENT

Great first experience with a motorhome! We rentes the A70 for 6 people. Very confortable , all the ITEMS for cooking included.

The workers there were very nice with us even when our English is not the best. No problems when we returned the motorhome.

Thanks!

SPAIN, posted on 7 October 2017 , vendor was McRent Iceland

The Best

I’m a complainer. I love to complain. Sometimes I complain about complaining. I rented my RV from IdeaMerge and Mc Rent RV and my only complaint was I had nothing to complain about. The campers where in perfect condition. The facility was first class. The people were helpful. It was very close to the airport. I would recommend them 100%. As a matter of fact I intend on going again next year and specifically asking for them again. This was a wonderful journey for me and my family. I would recommend it and the company to anyone. Enjoy!

Miami, posted on 5 October 2017 , vendor was McRent Iceland

Iceland Trip

Customer service and the camper van were great. The unit was just as advertised and everything was clean, extras furnished as ordered and everything worked well for our 10 day excursion around the island. Was disappointed about the shuttle service as advertised by IdeaMerge. Paid $70 per person for shuttle service from the airport to Rykvit to pick up the unit. Only thing was the McRent place was only 7 minutes from the airport not the 45 minutes as explained on line. Real surprise! McRent people picked us up at 8:30, which was great as we got in at 6, IdeaMerge told us pickup would be 9:30-10:00. Disappointed about the cost and confusion on this. Guys at McRent were very helpful and service efficient.

Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania, USA, posted on 29 September 2017 , vendor was McRent Iceland

Response from IdeaMerge:

The pick-up/return depot is located just 3 km from Reykjavik's Keflavik international airport (KEF). See the interactive Google Map we present on the More Info page (click on vehicle image or on adjacent More Info link) and on the rental confirmation voucher. In contrast Reykjavik city itself is about 45 minutes away from the airport. The bookable McRent shuttle travels between the airport and the rental depot, not the city. We think that shuttle is good value if you have 4 people or more in your party, but otherwise a taxi is probably better value.

Iceland Roadtrip

First motorhome holiday and based on this experience would definitely do it again. Holiday was planned as a photography tour. The motorhome gave us the flexibility to stay as long or as short a time as we wanted at any location. It also provided a base for my wife when she got fed up with me taking photo's. As it happened she loved the country as much as I did so did not need her knitting !!! Ideal merge were great to deal with and Touring Cars were equally good. I was a little worried about (very) minor damage being made an issue as I'd seen this in reviews I'd read before booking (not necessarily by touring cars). In our case there were no issues, the before and after inspections were very thorough, a clear description was given of what would be a problem and what would not. The vehicle had 65,000 km on the clock but was pretty immaculate internally, apart from the trim coming off in a couple of places. Storage space was really good and it was pretty easy to keep the vehicle clean and tidy internally despite some wet and muddy walks. We circumnavigated the island during our 14 days. I think it would be tough to do it in much less time and spend any reasonable amount of time at any location - our trip included two 5 hr drives in order to "cover the ground". Canada next and I'd have no hesitation in using Idealmerge and Touring Cars again.

Perth, posted on 28 September 2017 , vendor was Touring Cars

Motorhome rental

We have rented many cars and motorhomes in Australia, New Zealand, the UK, Europe, and the USA, so have a pretty good idea of what to expect.

Ideamerge......excellent to deal with in every respect. McRent.......also excellent to deal with. Our 4 berth near-new Fiat-based Breezer motorhome was in excellent condition......very well built, comfortable, and with everything we needed for our two-week rental period. The staff were very professional and provided a thorough and comprehensive hand-over. There were a couple of small glitches......the engine oil warning indicated that the oil level was low (easily fixed by topping up with the correct grade oil), and the grey water tank release valve was not working properly, making it difficult, but not impossible, to empty the tank. We covered nearly 3000 kms all around the country and found the motorhome to be surprisingly economical for a vehicle weighing 3 tons.....we averaged just under 10 litres/100 kms for the trip. The scenery was amazing and we had no trouble finding campgrounds, but were surprised at how busy they still were in September......a couple of campground managers indicated that it is absolute mayhem during the June-July high season. We thoroughly recommend visiting Iceland and touring in a motorhome........it's a great way to go. We also thoroughly recommend Ideamerge and McRent......they are great companies to deal with.

Australia, posted on 25 September 2017 , vendor was McRent Iceland

10 Days in Iceland

Our travel agent found IdeaMerge when I inquired about renting a camper in Iceland. IdeaMerge was able to get the type of camper I was looking for, a 4x4 truck with a slide-in camper. They used Camper Iceland. Camper Iceland was very accommodating and helpful. The truck was an older Ford F350 which was in good shape and a vehicle I am familiar with. It was "Ford tough". The camper was 3 years old and had been used a lot. Everything worked but somethings needed replacing. The mattress was worn out. The carbon monoxide monitor would go off randomly for no apparent reason. I had to have the stairs repaired during the trip (a minor fix). The only thing that really did not sit well with me is the 200km (125 miles) daily limit. You could get unlimited mileage for an additional cost but if you went over it was very costly. I would still use Camper Iceland but would possibly check out other rental companies first. As far as using IdeaMerge they were great. All request that I made via e-mail were responded to in a timely manner. They sent very detailed information prior to the trip as what to expect regarding the rental and driving around Iceland. I was satisfied with the customer service. If you are planning your first trip to Iceland and are considering camping, I highly recommend IdeaMerge as your point of contact for booking.

United States, posted on 12 September 2017 , vendor was Camper Iceland

ICELAND

The motorhome was clean, new and all good, but we had a problem with the bulbs, there was no replacement and the last two days broke the water pump.

España, posted on 6 September 2017 , vendor was Touring Cars

Awesome!

Having the RV was an amazing experience and one of the best ways to see Iceland. Given the pricey nature of the country, the RV softened the blow by allowing us to cook our own food and stay at camp sites (which are plentiful and easy to find). The maintenance of the RV was a lot easier than I thought (this was my first time in one). Also surprising, the beds were comfortable! The mobility allowed us to make use of our time there in the best way, by being close to all the sites, which is helped by the fact that the roads in Iceland go near the places you want to see. The only piece of advice I would give is regarding insurance - make sure you have it BEFORE getting the RV as the rental place does not contain insurance of their own. (I thought I could add it last minute, but had to scramble while there). Luckily I didn't need it, but it is something to keep in mind when doing the booking. Other than that the experience was phenomenal.

All in all, I highly recommend using an RV when seeing the country.

US, posted on 19 July 2017 , vendor was McRent Iceland

Eight thumbs up!!

We reserved our unit through Ideamerge almost a year in advance and paid the balance in full at time of booking. Knowing the price in advance in my own currency and getting some discounts added to the experience. I am pleased to say everything went without a hitch.

We arrived in Iceland at 6:30AM. After customs and the mandatory duty free shopping (booze is very expensive in Iceland so max out your limit), we took a taxi to the McRent site to see if we could leave our bags until our 11:00 am scheduled check-in. The McRent staff were just arriving for work but they processed us immediately which was an unforgettable welcome after a long journey. The early check-in did not impact the departure check-in. This gave us a head start which was very much appreciated. The unit was exactly as we ordered and the run through by the McRent staff was thorough with full explanations on how to operate the equipment. We reviewed our itinerary with them and the staff indicated which routes were closed. Overall we found McRent staff to be professional, helpful and engaging.

We rented a 6 person Sunlight A72. It had a four person dinette set on the passenger side and a two person dinette set on the driver's side. There was four of us so we initially thought the two passengers in the back would each be able to have a front facing window seat. Unfortunately the four seat belts in the back were all in the large dining area. It would have been nice for everyone to have their own window seat facing forward to appreciate the spectacular, ever-changing scenery. Two people slept in the above-cab bed and two slept in the back bunk beds so the dining area was always available for seating. We rented for 23 nights and it took some time for us to get over the jet-lag so that available seating was appreciated. A slight inconvenience with this unit was that the ladder to the top bunk interfered with the bathroom door which meant squeezing in (no easy task with a full bladder). The black water tank is portable and needs to be emptied almost daily. Warning..Reykjavik campsite does not have backwater disposal so you are forced to leave the campsite and risk losing your spot.

The roads in Iceland are a pleasure to drive and for the most part they are well maintained. The west fjords have some challenging mountainous sections with dirt roads and numerous switchbacks. We lost two hubcaps due to road construction outside Myvatn. We removed the remaining 2 hubcaps until the end of the trip. That lesson learned cost us $88 Euro for McRent to replace the two hubcaps. Zap straps could have solved the issue. I mentioned this to McRent as I noted some other rental companies had performed this service. East Iceland and south Iceland had some very windy areas so driving was akin to bull riding at times. We used Reykjavik as a base camp.

We also rented a 4X4 from Lagoon Car rentals for 4 days to explore Landmannalaugar and other areas the motorhome couldn't go. The car rental helped with the Reykjavik porta-potty disposal issue. I also had a positive experience with Lagoon Car rentals and would recommend them. Their cost for 4 days was less than the cost from Reykjavik cars for 3 days. I could go on and on but most people have already stopped reading. Many thanks to Ideamerge because through them our overall Iceland experience was fabulous. All four of us give Ideamerge two thumbs up.

Victoria Canada, posted on 15 July 2017 , vendor was McRent Iceland

Wonderful

The perfect way to see his beautiful country!! One of our top three vacations! The RV was clean and new and easy to drive and the staff was very easy to work with!! 👍🏻👍🏻

Nevada, USA, posted on 13 July 2017 , vendor was McRent Iceland

Excellent Rental

We had a great experience with McRent Iceland, from the booking to the drop off. Everyone we were in contact with were prompt in their email replys and answers to our questions. The staff on pickup was great, very professional and gave a very thorough operation and safety briefing. The RV was clean and in perfect order. Along the way, we had a minor mechanical issue which they arraigned to get fixed at the next town on our route-we were delayed only about 20 minutes! Drop off was a breeze. Highly recommend!!

USA, posted on 10 July 2017 , vendor was McRent Iceland

Excellant units

The unit I rented through McRent of Iceland was in excellent condition. It was ready to go when I arrived at the depot. The staff did a great job of insuring I was completely familiar with the unit and the operation of all its features. I have no reservation about recommending McRent to anyone looking to book an RV in Iceland.

Alaska USA, posted on 1 July 2017 , vendor was McRent Iceland

Get out of the R.V.

Don't get me wrong we loved our R.V. It keep us warm and dry. The vehicle drove and handled extremely well on any road surface. Drive till your tired or till that perfect night spot comes along. We rented for 10 nights and wished we had 10 more (we will be back ). One of the reasons one rents a R.V. is to take you to the areas you wish to stay in. Then there's nothing better then parking it and then walk, hike and explore the wonderful country side. Wonderful vacation will do it again.

Pensacola Fl., posted on 12 June 2017 , vendor was McRent Iceland

IdeaMerge a rare gem!

This review is a credit to Ideamerge. The fact that we can give them such lofty praise is remarkable considering what we went through on a vacation to Iceland. While our camper rental was a disaster - no fault of Ideamerge - the story is far too long for this format. I'll skip to the end, when we were promised a refund from the camper rental company themselves. But that refund never materialized. That's when Ideamerge's great business ethics came to the rescue! Eric was absolutely wonderful to work with, remained engaged and did everything he could possibly do to see that the camper company refunded us. When that seemed to have failed, Ideamerge stood by their reputation and made good on their promises to us themselves. Eventually, we were actually refunded twice, so we sent the second refund back to Eric. Now this is the way good business relationships are forged. We will contact them first the next time our travel plans involve anything they could help us with. Great people, great service, a rare gem in the web-business world!

USA, posted on 28 November 2016 , vendor was Camper Iceland

Very Good

As below, thorough explanation of facilities. Looked brand new motor home though seemed flimsily made. We were careful with it. Adequately provisioned with utensils, though could do with bowls (as below) and more pillows. However, they provided us with extra pillows for no cost which was good of the staff. No complaints at all.

UK, posted on 23 November 2016 , vendor was McRent Iceland

lovely van in very good condition. Thorough explanation of features and operation given on arrival. Staff were easy to contact throughout our stay and both handovers were done without having to wait for other customers. Couple of minor issues were that some of the locks on external doors were difficult to latch and operate, possibly due to wear and tear. Would have liked some bowls and sharper knives provided but otherwise adequatley equipped. would use again with no hesitation

uk, posted on 16 October 2016 , vendor was McRent Iceland

Try to rent a McRent if you can

Campers Iceland were understaffed and overworked. When we arrived we waited for a while for the staff to deal with another group. When they started to take care of us, another group was having trouble with their Wi-Fi router so our guy went out to help them. Eventually we were given a very quick tour of our camper, and very little explanation. After our guy left, I realized he hadn't given me the pocket Wi-Fi I rented so I went back to ask for him. I overheard the staff talking about not ever having a break so they were quickly eating a pizza in the back. He eventually brought it to me so I was ready to leave. The RV door wouldn't lock so I went back inside the office to tell them but my guy had already left. They called him and asked him to come back and I waited another 20 minutes for him to see that yes, the door was not going to lock and so he left to get a mechanic who came and checked it and then left to get his tools. With his trusty crowbar he fixed it and I was on my way. When I got to my destination I realized that the sunroof was open and the lever you pull for the gray water was sticking out the whole time. The camper itself was beautiful. Very new and wonderful to drive. It was impossible to shut the toilet door and the RV's door still wouldn't lock from the outside so we would always have to go in and out through the driver's door when we needed The RV locked. The RV came with no broom or toilet paper or chemicals for the toilet but you could pay extra for those. My brother and father both rented from McRent and it sounds like they have much better service -with explanations on how to use all of the amenities and how to read the wind-warning signs, etc, so they were able to help me since I got very little information from Campers Iceland when I picked up my camper. When I returned the camper I was questioned about two big dents in the back but I had luckily taken pictures of them the day I picked it up so I showed them to him, which was sufficient. I went with my dad to return his RV to the McRent place and I could see for myself that they had much better facilities and service. All in all my trip was the best vacation of my life. My family had a wonderful time in the RV. Everything was amazing. I was a little jealous of my dad and brother as their McRent campers seem to have been better maintained even though they were a little older than my camper. In conclusion Campers Iceland was understaffed and the Campers not really well-maintained compared to McRent. if you can, choose McRent. If there aren't any available there or elsewhere, Campers Iceland is better than nothing. I loved every minute of being in that RV, it just took an unnecessary while to get it, it was just a small hassle to try to lock it and also my wife did not like the fact you couldn't close the toilet door.

Japan, posted on 13 October 2016 , vendor was Camper Iceland

Rolling slice of Heaven

We were picked up from the airport and rode to the McRent depot in our camper. After doing the paperwork and having an extensive and extremely helpful orientation to all the systems and functions of the RV we were off on adventure. The first day was windy but the RV handled well though we were happy when the wind died down. The Compact Plus RV was comfortable for the 2 of us. We enjoyed waking up to a different spectacular view each morning. The same was true when we stopped to prepare and enjoy a hot lunch somewhere along the road. This was our first RV vacation but certainly not the last IdeaMerge and McRent really have things organized and prepared and set you up for a wonderful experience.

Tunisia, posted on 11 October 2016 , vendor was McRent Iceland

cannot ask for more

IdeaMerge found that camper for us in Iceland when pretty much everybody else was already sold out. The service, advice and all the little extra perks from IdeaMerge were much appreciated and deserve a 5 star rating. Camper Iceland itself is a well established and well organized RV and car rental company in Iceland. Our camper was very new and modern, in excellent shape and easy to drive. Fuel efficiency was excellent and we had great fun using our camper as a base for exploring beautiful Iceland.

Ottawa, posted on 28 September 2016 , vendor was Camper Iceland

Brilliant camper van.

We hired a 6 berth motor home from Mc Rent at the end of August 2016 and it was fantastic. When we picked up the van the staff were very helpful and explained everything we needed to know. The van was like new, spotless throughout with a full tank of clean water, toilet roll, a tub of blue tablets to put into waste water each time when emptied, tea towels and dish cloth and brush. There was adequate cookware to cook each day for 6.

We had 2 adults sleep on the bed in the rear, 3 teenager girls on the bed over the driver and our teenage son on the bed which converted at the table space.

Staff were very helpful letting us leave some bags with them for a couple of days at the end of our trip. No complaints at all and would recommend using Mc Rent.

UK, posted on 8 September 2016 , vendor was McRent Iceland

Thank you for a perfect holiday.

We just came home from a wonderful trip to Iceland,- driving the ring road for 9 days.

Frederik from IdeaMerge was extremely helpful and nice to work with! He always answered right away and paid special attention to our smallest wishes.

He and McRent got us a a brand new campervan directly from Germany. We were the first to drive it in Iceland. It was perfect!

when we had a minor problem, we were met by a mechanic in a village near by and the problem was fixed right away.

We would love to come back for the westfjords, and there is no doubt that we will book through you guys again!

Denmark, posted on 26 July 2016 , vendor was McRent Iceland

Excellent service

Excellent service and highly recommended.

Malta, posted on 21 July 2016 , vendor was McRent Iceland

Best Holiday Ever

This way of traveling by campervan is simply the best way to do it in Iceland. Our family of 4 thoroughly enjoyed our seven days campervan trip out of the 10 days we were in Iceland. The staffs, especially Ollie (Hope i got it right), was totally pleasant and patient in explaining details and answering our queries as it was a first for us. The Motorhome was very new, clean and luxurious. It had two double beds, toilet and shower room, a dining area, a well equipped kitchen with cooking stoves, a sink and a refrigerator. We were awed by the storage space in every nook and corner and the comfort of every facility in the spacious truck.

We had an unfortunate hit and run accident with a car hitting off our left rear view mirror while overtaking us. Fortunately, the small bottom part of the huge mirror wasn't nipped off so we were able to continue driving. We were only one-third through the more remote part of the Ring Road and Emergency help came from McRent by their swift response in flying out a new set of mirrors to our next destination where a mechanic at a garage, got it fixed for us immediately within the hour.

Returning to the office, preparing and settling this issue, was a brisk and fair affair. Indeed, I would recommend using McRent as our experience with the service staffs are all very professional, pleasant and good. Of course while doing our best to take good and reasonable care of the Motorhome, I must add that they were not out to be fussy to try to find fault at all with the vehicle, as we so wrongly feared we might encounter.

Overall, a most out of the world and memorable trip of our lifetime.

Singapore, posted on 19 July 2016 , vendor was McRent Iceland

Unforgettable! We are now hooked on RV travel!

We have just came back from an unforgettable holiday in Iceland .We rented a motor van through you with Touring cars for seven days.The service was excellent and the motor van was like a luxury studio apartment on wheels.We also felt safe as whenever we sent a message to Touring cars they answered immediately .Iceland is an amazingly beautiful place and I think it was a best choice to go around with a motor van .The scenery is breathtaking and there is so much to see. Iceland is a very expensive country but we will visit again in a couple of years .Our next trip will be Scotland and I would like to know if you rent motor vans there as we got hooked with this type of traveling now . Also suggestions when to visit best .Thank you Idea Merge.

Malta, posted on 19 May 2016 , vendor was Touring Cars

we had bad luck: 1/..fridge (on gas) did not work from day 1! 2/..2 cabinets broke down, 3/..1 of the 2 (???) to cook on gave up...... 4/..the water tab was loose 5/.. the heating system did not work as it shout 6/.. left front light from te camper did not work

ones back we recived a discount(8%) Mcrent people were very friendly

belgium, posted on 25 October 2015 , vendor was McRent Iceland

McRent Iceland - Keflavik

super friendly and helpful staff. the motorhome was well equipped and in great shape. we had a small issue on one occasion and were able to call the emergency assistance line. they were able to talk us through how to fix the issue that evening but also assured us that they could have someone to us the next morning if we couldn't do it ourselves. overall, an excellent experience

Atlanta, GA, USA, posted on 19 October 2015 , vendor was McRent Iceland

Everything went "on wheels"

The service was great. The motorhome had everything needed. Confortable, clean, well equiped. The staff was very friendly and take great care explaining everything. Also 24hours contact telephone number in case you need something. We enjoyed everything a lot. Thank you!

Cadiz SPAIN, posted on 8 October 2015 , vendor was McRent Iceland

McRent - Keflavik

I cannot fault these guys, van was in excellent condition & clean. We had a small problem with the fridge not working but it was simply a door clip position that needed adjusting, the McRent guys were contactable 24hrs & it was solved quickly. I would have no hestitation using McRent again. Thanks guys for a great holiday.

Newcastle upon Tyne -UK, posted on 8 October 2015 , vendor was McRent Iceland

1 WEEK RING ROAD ON A Sunlight T68

Everything went perfectly. The rental motorhome was almost new and with everything working perfectly. Thanks for a wonderful holiday.

Barcelona, posted on 2 October 2015 , vendor was McRent Iceland

Recently returned from Iceland on a 6 day trip around the island. IdeaMerge and Touring Cars organised the RV and everything went well. The briefing was good, staff very helpful, pickups went well and the RV in good condition. First time using an RV and now very enthusiastic about doing this again. Iceland is expensive but the people are friendly and the scenery fantastic.

posted on 13 August 2015 , vendor was Touring Cars

The camper van was perfect for getting to see Iceland. It was comfortable, warm and well equipped. The service was excellent - it all worked smoothly and we had a great holiday.

posted on 6 August 2015 , vendor was Touring Cars

Best way to visit this great country. RV was super. We recommend this way of travelling. Not cheap but a Unique experience!

posted on 29 July 2015 , vendor was McRent Iceland

Great experience. Highly recommended to tour the country in a motorhome. McRent is a company with great professionals. The only but may be somewhat high price.

posted on 22 July 2015 , vendor was McRent Iceland

We used IdeaMerge and Touring Cars and the service was fantastic. Access to very cheap fill internet connectivity via their galaxy pad was a bonus!

Highly recommended and the ideal way to visit Iceland..

posted on 27 June 2015 , vendor was Touring Cars

IdeaMerge was great! They provided all the required information and reminded us of things to watch out for and pay close attention to. They were quick to respond to e-mails. They gave you comfort of mind after having spent such a large amount on a rental motor home which was still a couple of months away.

McRent in Iceland was very organized and they really take care of you. Just be careful not to damage anything...prices go up very quickly!

posted on 10 June 2015 , vendor was McRent Iceland

It was our first time renting a campervan. That is why we decided ideamerge as everything is detailed in the contract and they booked the vehicle with a local company (touring cars) in time. No setbacks, everything went smoothly.

posted on 9 June 2015 , vendor was Touring Cars

Spent 8 days in a McRent camper Van, the van was very clean and comfortable. The staff went out of their way to help us out when we had a problem while travelling. We were sent weather updates everyday to warn us of high winds and Ice on roads. Over all would recommend renting a van to any one travelling to Iceland. 100% satisfaction with van and staff experience.

posted on 5 March 2015 , vendor was McRent Iceland

Can't express how smooth the pick-up and delivery process was in Iceland's McRent motorhome rental. I have reccomended this service to everyone as they are a top notch group! Thanx for the Icelandic hospitality guys ! ! !

posted on 15 November 2014 , vendor was McRent Iceland

Ideamerge was prompt and helpful in setting up a rental from McRent. McRent was very thorough and helpful in getting us on our way. The camper was easy to use. We were very satisfied with this combination and have recommended Ideamerge and McRent to our friends who are interested in touring Iceland.

posted on 10 September 2014 , vendor was McRent Iceland

We had no problems hiring the motorhome with Ideamerge. I would book it again!!!

posted on 10 September 2014 , vendor was Touring Cars

We are so glad we decided to rent a motorhome for our trip to Iceland!! We rented from Touring cars via Idea Merge and we recomend both. We had a wonderful time, and only regret not having been able to spend more days in that beautiful country.

Mexico, posted on 31 August 2014 , vendor was Touring Cars

We rented a motor home from McRent in Keflavik. They were extremely helpful and professional and went the extra mile many times during our 18 day visit to Iceland in May. Our son, who was meeting us at Keflavik from the UK, was able to collect the camper prior to our arrival as we were delayed in Amsterdam for 20 hours. We then completed all the paper work and checking of vehicle the next day and the guys from McRent answered all our questions and gave us plenty of info as well as a sim card for my phone.

There were also plenty of info pamphlets in the camper. We did unfortunately damage a rear wheel when crossing a very narrow bridge. We put on the spare wheel and McRent flew in another spare wheel the next morning, as we did not want to travel on the back roads of the Western Fjords without a spare wheel. They organised for a mechanic in a nearby village (on a Sunday) to check the vehicle. He found the damage done a bit more serious than we realized. McRent then advised us to take the ferry to Strykkisholmur where they met us with a replacement camper so that we could continue our trip. A few days later when we were near Reykjahlid, they phoned us to say our camper had been repaired and that we needed to swop vehicles again. They met us along the way so that we did not need to drive all the way back to Keflavik. So in short, our holiday did not go according to plan but McRent really did everything and much more to help us so that we still had a fantastic trip in Iceland. They didn't charge anything for the extra time and traveling involved in swopping vehicles, being only concerned that we be able to continue our trip safely. We did of course forfeit the deposit. Our holiday could so easily have turned out to be 1 week in Reykjavik without transport. They certainly do their utmost to help their clients and have such a positive attitude that nothing is a problem. They will always make a plan. Thank you most sincerely McRent Iceland. We certainly can recommend you.

South Africa, posted on 1 August 2014 , vendor was McRent Iceland

The folks at IdeaMerge really do provide exceptional customer service, and I would certainly recommend booking here. The rental was from Touring Cars, and I was happy with the equipment and service we received there also. Thoroughly inspecting the vehicle and taking pictures is critical, as well as learning the vehicle, which makes the rental and return a bit tedious, but that's the reality of renting a motorhome. The RV allowed us so much freedom to explore Iceland, we couldn't have imagined doing things any differently.

Canada, posted on 31 July 2014 , vendor was Touring Cars

Would recommend idea merge. We had an excellent trip and staff were v friendly.

posted on 9 October 2013 , vendor was Touring Cars

We had a fantastic trip to Iceland 8-18 July, 2013. Idea Merge found a good deal (as good as you can expect on Iceland...), and the information on the homepage was quite good. The camper was nice, although well used. The team at the rental place were wery nice and friendly. We can recommend Idea Merge!

posted on 11 August 2013 , vendor was Touring Cars

We rented a Touring Car motorhome for 18 days to travel the ring road and take side trips. Overall, our experience was very positive. Renting an RV is the most convenient and cost-effective way to travel the entire country.

We did experience a few issues - we reserved a motorhome to sleep only 2 seven months in advance of our trip, but got one that was designed for 6. Same price, but very large. And, a few items failed to work reliably, such as the automatic step - it would retract without notice. Also, the valve on the gray-water tank would not open, so we needed to be a little careful about how much water we collected. So, we washed our dishes at campground sinks. We did have our furnace fail to operate, but a call to Touring Cars helped us solve the problem. We needed to reset the electrical system. As previously mentioned, Touring Cars was very helpful. They did call us about high winds in Vik.

It is important to be fully alert when making your initial check of the vehicle. Take a lot of pictures. You need to try everything (even the gray water release valve!) and be very careful about all blemishes. Open the drawers and doors, look around the cushions, carefully inspect the exterior. There can be a lot of hidden damage.

Check-in was a little trying. It took almost 2 hours for them to finish the inspection - we passed, by the way. So allow for the extra time.

In short, Touring Cars treated us fairly and provided everything we requested. We would rent with them again.

One thing about campgrounds - especially if you are camping in the late spring or early summer - there may not be anyone in the office to take your fee. Just wait a bit and someone usually comes around and knocks on your door. This is very different from campgrounds in the US - much more relaxed! Get the camping card, too.

PS: Bring your own GPS with Icelandic maps. We did and never had any problems finding anything.

posted on 1 October 2012 , vendor was Touring Cars

We had truly a fantastic trip thanks to having this fantastic camper available to us. The service was very good. Thanks for making this a memorable trip.

posted on 28 July 2012 , vendor was McRent Iceland

In a period of 16 days we did the tour of iceland with a motorhome. This was our first motorhome experience and it was very positive. We found the motorhome to be the ideal way to do this kind of roundtrip with our family (2 adults and 3 kids between 7 and 12y). Our experience with booking and collecting/drop of is also positive. The fact that, during our trip, we were informed regularly on potential heavy wind hazards gave us a comfortable feeling.

posted on 17 August 2011 , vendor was Touring Cars

Our personal experience was very positive; everything was fine, from rental service to travelling and camping.

Camper rental is very good idea for travelling around Iceland, except if you are planning going deeply inland. Campsites are correct and well placed. For Reykjavik, the boy scout's camp is the best.

We get no troubles when picking up or dropping off the car. Information obtained with the car was correct. The car was 1 year old, so no problems with hardware.

We're wondering about our next travel on a motorhome...

BARCELONA, SPAIN, posted on 12 September 2010 , vendor was Touring Cars

 

 

 

 

 

Our customers are welcome to add their own reviews here.