Our Customer Reviews

England RV Rental

IdeaMerge England RV Rentals
Average 4.6 stars out of 5
Based on: 10 reviews

Remember, it's cheaper to book via IdeaMerge.
We are all about best price, transparency and service.

5 stars: 7
4 stars: 2
3 stars: 1
2 stars: 0
1 stars: 0

 

Idea Merge triumphs again

Third time using IdeaMerge, still nothing but praise for their efficiency. No surprises, everything exactly as they outline. Top Marks again lads.

Family of 4, 5 weeks for the family to be stuck with me in a camper, but it all worked out brilliantly. Hired a Sunlight A68 with the bubble top and bunks down the back for the kids. McRent were efficient, camper almost brand new. Caravan & Camping membership was useful at times too. Couple of minor niggles, some broken window shades (I managed to fix by finding the fluegelbinder things that go in the ends but just a bit annoying), no toaster (eek!) & the oven grill played up a bit, but otherwise ran like a dream. The fit-out is a little 'tinny' to save weight, so take care or it will break, and they need an extra fold out seat cos nowhere else to sit other than the table. But these are first world problems and the campers are pretty cool really. Ze Germans are really quite efficient with their design.

The mighty Fiat never missed a beat and was great to drive. Hint: Plan your route through Wales carefully or practice your reversing along narrow hedgerows and be prepared to stop for anything that might come the other way. We got there, but our marriage was at times in jeopardy due to my wife's occasionally creative navigational choices. BTW, Google doesn't know you are 2.3 mtr wide... There were 12V and power sockets, good fridge and freezer space and beds very comfy. Kids on bunks was great so they didn't fight in a big bed. Mileage about 22mpg so you pay for the bubble but easier than converting the dining table every night. Most low bridges are well signposted with alternative routes. If in doubt, don't.

Scotland is a dream for campers, the further you go, the better it gets. Park up anywhere, views & scenery to die for. After Germany, the UK is a breeze. The roads are ridiculously narrow, but nobody toots at you, even when the line of traffic builds up behind you. They are just so nice. (Suggest you pull over frequently when you can to let them pass though!) Did I mention that the roads are ridiculously narrow in places? Maybe the Romans had skinny chariots, but whatever the reason, there just doesn't seem enough room for all the traffic, but somehow it all works. Everyone gives way in the villages, and when it all gets too hard, that is why God invented English pubs.

Highly recommended if you want a dream holiday. The UK was harder work than the USA, and probably more difficult than northern Europe due to the narrow roads, but still fantastic if you stay away from the big towns.

New Zealand, posted on 3 November 2016, vendor was McRent UK

Our Cornwall trip

I would highly recommend Amber leisure for your RV holiday rental. Everything was just as the presented on the website. Check in was quick and efficient. They even had a library of books and directories for our use for free.

posted on 30 October 2016, vendor was Amber Leisure

Motorhome - a great way to spend a month in England

IdeaMerge were great - well organised, everything efficiently done by email including supplying checklists, links to instructional videos etc, and comprehensive written information addressing just about every likely eventuality. McRent UK were also very efficient in the pick up and drop off of the van, making this potentially stressful time a breeze. The van was excellent, a GlobalCar GlobalScout (2 person). Basically an extended wheelbase Fiat Ducati. The fitout does not widen the standard van body so it is a good choice for narrow roads, of which there are a large number. Acres of space for 2, plenty of cupboards, great bed, massive storage under the bed and a big table. The front seats are supremely comfortable. Fuel economy impressive, more than 30 mpg. Easy to drive as well, the automatic gearbox is a treat. A motorhome is a great way to have a holiday - there is nothing better than having your own space for a month. We could leave when we wanted, arrive when we wanted, and go where we wanted. Despite some reservations about the roads, in the end there was only one place (in the Lake District) where we couldn't go because of the size of the van. The only things that could be improved are similar to what others have said. How can you rent out a van and not supply a toaster? It appears that everyone is buying toasters and leaving them in the van but the company always takes them out. And no big pot for cooking any decent sized meal, even for two. We asked the company for both and were given them, so why can't they be left there for everyone to use? The biggest annoyance with the van was that, despite having a separate house battery that runs all the 12v electrics, there was not a single 12v or USB socket anywhere. The trip ended up costing us more than it might have because we regularly needed electric hookup just so we could charge all our gear. An astounding oversight in today's world. Apart from these minor annoyances the whole trip was simply superb and we would do it again at the drop of a hat.

Australia, posted on 5 July 2016, vendor was McRent UK

My daughter and I enjoyed touring England and Scotland in the IdeaMerge's Dethleffs Trend T6617. It came with two single beds which was a perfect fit for us and one of the main reasons we choose that model. It was roomy enough to be comfortable for the two of us to live in for a month but not too large at 22.8 feet long and 7.6 feet wide to wheel around some of the narrow, tight fitting roads in the U.K. It also traveled well on the motorways at higher speeds and maneuvered well around roundabouts. I got my first test in it when we picked it up as the gas tank was empty and I had to get it in and out of a little gas station. The unit was clean and in good repair, it could have used a wee bit more kitchen items, we purchased a few things and left them in the unit when we turned it in, I do require coffee in the morning and not instant and my daughter needed toast for breakfast, luckily our bread was already sliced as there was no knife but over all it was reasonably well equipped. The people on both ends, pick and drop of at the McRent depots were helpful and friendly. orientation was good but a bit fast, I am sure the person does it so many times, we felt a bit overwhelmed and did forget some of it but the manual that was provided in the unit was a great help. We had a lovely holiday and I cannot think of a better way to travel around, people were friendly the campgrounds were well kept and we enjoyed the feeling of being free to stop and go where and when we wanted in our own home on wheels, no packing and unpacking and to be able to make our own meals, as we both have dietary issues to deal with. So thank you we would not hesitate to recommend you and would certainly use your services again.

Canada, posted on 30 May 2016, vendor was McRent UK

AMBER LEISURE, Excellent service...

Traveling to UK with an RV was a great experience. The RV was brand new, only 500 miles when we started our tip, Service and Preparation from the staff, was very helpful and kind, Everything worked great with the vehicle. It was a 6 berth vehicle which we used for 4, so our two kids each had it's own bed, 6 people 12 days straight would have being very tight and we might ended up leaving someone behind.

I'd highly recommend AMBER LEISURE for your RV trip.

MEXICO, posted on 3 November 2015, vendor was Amber Leisure

very pleased

We had perfect service from the initial booking through to the return. Our motorhome was fully equipped for cooking basics with a gas range, oven and microwave. It was our first motorhome experience and we managed 18 days without any issues. I would recommend Amber Leisure and would use them again.

Toronto, Canada, posted on 29 October 2015, vendor was Amber Leisure

Very satisfied.

We were very happy with Idea Merge. Will use again. Thank you!! Deon Grobler

South Africa, posted on 29 October 2015, vendor was Amber Leisure

we picked up the motorhome in London, due to delays with the ferry in Dover we had to call 4 times and beg the lady to wait for us, at the end we where only 15 minutes later as confirmed.

Motorhome was new, size fitted well and it was <br>clean. poor equiped kitchen, no toaster, no coffemachine, only two small pans. it wasn't ;possible to cook pasta for 4 people, so we had to buy a pan and bowls for salad.

all over all ok.

Switzerland, posted on 2 October 2015, vendor was McRent UK

My family and I rented a Bailey Autograph 765 from Amber Leisure through Ideamerge. I chose Ideamerge because they offered one price for just about everything, I could pay in USD, they were very responsive to my emails and provided a comprehensive service. The only thing I needed to pay Amber Leisure for was the airport transfer, additional propane tank (I asked for it but didn't end up using for a 20-day rental) and their cleaning fee. would not hesitate to use Ideamerge again.

One tip for anyone planning a motorhome vacation in the UK: when your GPS tells you to turn onto a smaller road, take a look before you commit. There are many narrow roads with no shoulder, especially in Cornwall, that may be a tight fit for an RV. If you are looking for a campsite, check out the campsite's website to see if there are any tips on roads to use. Plan to find park and rides that service the city you want to explore. If you check the city's park and ride website, you can find the ones that don't have height restrictions. Parking is free and most family return bus tickets were 4-8 GBP. It was well worth it considering the headache of driving narrow streets and finding parking for the RV.

posted on 13 June 2015, vendor was Amber Leisure

I found Ideamerge excellent to deal with most helpful and answered all my questions politely and quickly.

Motorhome rental in UK from Luton depot. Excellent service in every way pleasant people to deal with and again very helpful.

Our Motorhome model was the (Bailey) perfect for two people it served us well, it was clean and in excellent condition. I do think we would get a bigger one next time though as we did get sick of making up the bed each night.

We were disappointed in the linen, pillows were very lumpy plus one set of sheets, two towels and one tea towel was not enough for two people for a month. Some campgrounds did not have a laundry so it was hard to wash linen and keep it clean at times. Two sets would have been most helpful. also one knife, fork and spoon each was also a little sparse.

Apart from that we had a lovely holiday in our motorhome.

Australia, posted on 12 October 2014, vendor was Amber Leisure

 

 

 

 

 

Our customers are welcome to add their own reviews here.