Our Customer Reviews

Spain RV Rental

IdeaMerge Spain RV Rentals
Average 4.6 stars out of 5
Based on: 34 reviews

Remember, it's cheaper to book via IdeaMerge.
We are all about best price, transparency and service.

5 stars: 22
4 stars: 10
3 stars: 2
2 stars: 0
1 stars: 0


A Trip Around the Iberian Pernisula

Our trip to Spain started with a hiccough which meant that are arrival to Barcelona was delay by 24 hours. A frantic call to the McRent depot in Barcelona quickly resolved this by a rejigging of the pick-up from the airport and our holiday started without a hitch. I would also like to commend Ideamerge who earlier in the piece were not phased by a change in the credit card or my failure to give the correct card details. If you are collecting your motor home from the Barcelona depot and don't want to head off directly, I can strongly recommend the Hotal de Camp noted in the documentation that accompanies the booking confirmation. It's a comfortable and friendly family run hotel that is less than a mile from the depot. It has also recently installed a waste water (both black and grey) disposal point as well as a power point, so would also be good as your last stop before handing back the motor home. The food was traditional Catalan and they have a good selection of wines again local to the area. Breakfast is included in the room rate.

This is the second time we have used Ideamerge and have been very happy on both occasions.

Australia, posted on 10 October 2016, vendor was McRent Spain

Great honeymoon

Danke! Der beste Service den ich in Spanien bisher erlebt habe. Vom Flughafentransfer über die Einweisung bis weit nach 20:00 Uhr bis zur Rückgabe war alles 5 Sterne wert. Das Auto war neuwertig und sauber und war uns ein kuschliges Heim während unserer Flitterwochen und auf der BOOM! Peace is possible! Danny

Germany, posted on 31 August 2016, vendor was McRent Spain

Excellent Holiday

Picked up Camper from Madrid Depot early, with no hassles. Van in pristine condition, and staff most helpful. Second time rental through Ideamerge, and no problems either time. Had a wonderful 8 weeks in the Camper, and would deal again through Ideamerge and McRent.

Australia, posted on 6 August 2016, vendor was McRent Spain

Hasta la próxima vez

We collected our RV from Irun near San Sebastian in the Basque region of Spain. It was ready early, and our expectations were fully met by the friendly staff and high quality RV waiting for us.I had used the McRent advance check-in which saved a lot of time when we arrived at the depot.The staff also willingly helped us with car parking for our own vehicle. The instruction course was very thorough, and we had watched the McRent videos, which I would urge everyone to do as it made our understanding quicker & easier.

Everything worked as expected, and we experienced no problems. We were following the Tour de France cycle race from South West France in to the Pyrenees, and I don't believe we could have achieved this without the flexibility an RV provides in terms of over night stays etc.

In summary McRent is a great company with a superb product, and excellent staff members, and we have no hesitation in recommending them to anyone renting RVs in Europe.

UK, posted on 24 July 2016, vendor was McRent Spain

Motor Home From McRent Manressa

We hired a Globe Scout mobile Home for 2 months from McRent in Manressa and toured Spain and Portugal. The mobile home was brand new and was a pleasure to drive and live in for the two months. We were delighted with the service provided by McRent and ask you to pass on our thanks and congratulations to them for their excellent service. We had a minor technical problem with a micro switch and Isaac helped us to have it replaced in Sevilla. The mobile home was comfortable and more than adequate for the two of us. Navigating in a strange country is always difficult, and we strongly recommend people take or hire a sat nav. Without one, finding your way to camp grounds and tourist sites is extremely difficult.

Australia, posted on 9 July 2016, vendor was McRent Spain

Autocaravana en Espana

Nice camper van for two people. Good instructions on operation at check-in. No problems using the van. The kitchen equipment supplied needed some supplements. My only complaint was that the check-out was hurried and we did not get confirmation of the return of our deposit until a few weeks later.

The best part is knowing up front the costs (including taxes and insurance) and the risks. I would rent from McRent again, and use IdeaMerge also.

California, posted on 21 May 2016, vendor was McRent Spain

McRent Barcelona went above and beyond

On a whim we decided to see the Iberian Pen by Motorhome. Poked around sites until i realized there were only a couple of vendors and a whole pile of reesllers. I liked the quick response and straight talk from IdeaMerge out of Portland, so I booked with them. Given the shitty state of the CAD $ I particularly liked the locked in price in our own currency once we booked. We arrived in Barcelona at 10 AM and decided to have an adventure getting to the depot north of Manresa, given we had 6 hours to do it cuz no pickup until 4. We negotaied the metro and trains etc and got to Manresa around 2. Please remember we were doing this by the seat of our pants, but we got there. we had a large suitcase and backpack each. Off the train, down the steps, up the steps with bags, almost killed me. (I am the husband 64 and wife is 65) Then packed the bags up a hill to town collapsed in a restaurant, drank wine and ate. Then called McRent to pick us up. Some confusion as to where we were in Manresa, until we determined we were just up the street from the SEX shop and everyone seemed to know where that was. Antonio picked us up and we went to pick up the MOHo. Got oriented and away we went. 3 days later, while parked at a shopping center north of Barcelona, passenger side window was smashed and we lost our Ipads. Live and learn. We made a police report and went back to McRent, getting there just before closing. Coincidental with all of this, my wife was coming down with the mother of all sinus infections and needede to see a doctor. The folks at McRent to fabulous care of us. They said donèt take the moho into Mantresa, we will drive you, and you can come back here and spend the night in the compound and we will deal with the broken window in the morning. and that is what they did. We were on the road with a new window by 2:00 PM. They were super and we cannot thank the whole crew there enough for their care and assistance. Also, when we returned the unit there was no charge for the window because we had reported it to the police and had a police report. A great experience.

Whitehorse Yukon Canada, posted on 24 November 2015, vendor was McRent Spain

We recently enjoyed a 5 1/2 week rental through McRent Madrid. I have nothing but praise for the staff there and the quality of the motor-home that was provided. In paricular I'd like to thank Marcos from this depot for his professionalism - was a pleasure to deal with him. Also thanks go to Ideamerge staff who were always ready to deal with my queries and to handle the minor changes we made to our booking.

posted on 23 July 2015, vendor was McRent Spain

We rented our campervan through McRent in Madrid. The van was in perfect condition and the staff at McRent were very helpful. We booked our rental through IdeaMerge in the US. They were very helpful and prompt in their responses to our emails. They were also very accommodating with the few minor changes that we needed to make. There were no surprises - everything went smoothly.

Traveling in a campervan is a wonderful way to tour Spain!

posted on 25 June 2015, vendor was McRent Spain

We picked up our RV near Barcelona via the McRent depot in Salent. The staff was wonderful and I sincerely hope that you will pass on our special thanks to Isaac (hope the spelling is correct) he went totally out of his way and did more than what would normally be expected. Also the treatment after a small accident was wonderful, everybody calm and getting down to business. The bus was everything we expected, handled beautifully and comfortable. Only regret I have is that with no "top-up" insurance the excess was rather steep which cost me almost as much as a week's rental. I would however have no problem in recommending Ideamerge / McRent.

posted on 26 May 2015, vendor was McRent Spain

We rented a McRent autocaravana (motorhome) through IdeaMerge with pickup/dropoff in Barcelona in April 2015.

IdeaMerge was very responsive to my questions prior to finalizing the rental and were more than willing to help. Both Eric and Doug were extremely helpful.

The rental process at the McRent depot in Barcelona (Sallent) was very straight-forward - they kindly picked us up at the train station in Manresa and also dropped us off there at the end of our rental (we requested this in advance). They, like IdeaMerge were very helpful and service-oriented.

Overall, an entirely positive experience without any issues. Spain is an awesome country and travelling with an autocaravana there is a great way to go.

posted on 19 May 2015, vendor was McRent Spain

We hired a RV at McRent Madrid. We are from the Netherlands. It was our first experience with a RV. Although our plain was delayed they took the time to explain us everything about the RV. The RV was really good and exactly the type and status as promised. We had a good time in Spain and Portugal for a period of 9 days.

posted on 16 October 2014, vendor was McRent Spain

We hired out of Seville and had a great camper via McRent. second time I have used Ideamerge and will again be recomending it for the future and planing for our next adventure.

posted on 21 September 2014, vendor was McRent Spain

We rented from the Manresa depot this year and in 2013. The staff there are very friendly and helpful, the motorhomes are immaculate. The train from Barcelona to Manresa is easy and the staff pick you up from the Manresa train station. Would definitely recommend IdeaMerge.

Canada, posted on 5 August 2014, vendor was McRent Spain

Check-in and out process was very efficient. Clear explanation about the camper was given. Staff was very helpful and responsive.

posted on 3 August 2014, vendor was McRent Spain

IdeaMerge were great and McRent Spain were great as well.

Getting the motorhome was a bit of a chore. The rental Depot is in Manresa which is about 55km from Barcelona. We had to take a train to Manresa. The depot pick us up at the train station and took us back when we returned the rv they were great. The motorhlme was excellant very new and we had no problems with the RV. We didn't rent the linen but bought our own from Ikea.

The only way to travel. The campgrounds were great and they all had public transportation nearby.

posted on 31 July 2014, vendor was McRent Spain

We rented a smallish camper from Malaga for a 10 day period. The agent where we picked up the camper was easily reached by a short taxi ride from the airport. We arrived early and they were quite happy to keep our luggage and taxi us at no cost to a local shopping/entertainment mall where we could get lunch. The induction and instruction process was very thorough and we felt confident that we understood everything before we left. they did a thorough condition check with us before we left and we took a couple of photos at their suggestion just to be safe. They were most helpful and had an excellent command of English as our Spanish is poor. The camper exceeded our expectations in terms of comfort and the management of the services Gas electric water and waste was very easy. The camp site were all of a good standard if at times a little difficult to find. The vehicle was very easy to drive and we had no problems at all during a lovely 5 stop 2000km trip around Andalucia. The agents made our return very easy we emailed them to tell them that we expected to arrive about an hour earlier than planned and they were ready for us at 9-00am as agreed. They carried out a thorough check of the vehicle on our return and as we expected were quite happy with its condition and cleanliness. The returned deposit appeared in full on our statement a few days after our return to the UK. In all a great experience and we would definitely recommend this company and use them ourselves again.

posted on 15 July 2013, vendor was McRent Spain

As smaller models were not anymore available at the booking time, we rented a 4-person Dethleffs T 6501 during two last weeks of June 2012 at the Manresa depot station to travel around Southern part of Spain. Booking process was quick and easy and we never regretted we booked our motorhome via IdeaMerge: the price is for sure the best on the market and such bonuses as free cooking utensils, dishes and silverware, printed guide to campgrounds across Spain as well as reachable customer support you won't find anywhere else. Motorhome pickup was also good: Manresa staff was extremely friendly and ready to help on any matter. As we had some extra time we decided not to take transfer to the station and took a train to Manresa Alta, where McRent administrator picked us up completely for free! Motorhome was very close to "completely new" condition with very small mileage and clean and nice interior, which looked exactly as on a picture. There were only two problems with the motorhome during our trip: cupboard's doorknob and gas tank. Doorknob was for sure been broken before our rental and just fixed, but we managed to break it again. As the fines for broken details were quite high, we decided to fix this issue by ourselves and bought exactly the same new doorknob for just 9 Eur. Problem with gas tank appeared before the drop off as we could not find where to buy full gas tank around Manresa. But again — McRent staff surprised us as told they will fill it for no cost! Overall we are very satisfied with both IdeaMerge and McRent service and will for sure book our next trip with them.

posted on 4 October 2012, vendor was McRent Spain

We arrived at the depot near Madrid to pick up our Dethleffs T2 camper van which was ready for us to drive. The details were gone over with the English speaking Ingnacio who explained everything clearly. Just in case there was an English Manual in the cabin which came in handy a few times during the trip. The camper had loads of storage space & was very clean and comfortable. Unfortunately though quite early on in our trip through Portugal the key which was used for the entrance door, water, and wc cassette broke off in the lock of the entrance door. This should be checked out by Dethleffs as it seems that the key is much to thin to use for so many daily uses. The entrance door lock needs to be turned with quite a bit of leverage. We had to have a spare key mailed to us to be picked up. This did set back our travel for a few days and we missed out some important plans which we had made. We returned the camper to the Madrid depot and were charged 80 euros for the cylinder to be changed etc, even though we didn't really feel that this was our fault. Aside from this unpleasant business, we enjoyed our camper van and would consider another rental again. Just make sure the door locks are not a problem!!!

posted on 30 November 2011, vendor was McRent Spain

We rented Dethleffs T6401-4 based on Fiat Ducato in Manresa (Catalonia). It isn't very close to Barcelona, but we got train to Manresa station. And Mcrent pick us up from Manresa station to hire station by our motorhome for free. And then transfer us back after drop off for free too. It's great! The motorhome was good, everything was work, except used water gage. From time to time it showed full tank regardless of it's real state. But it's not very important. Mcrent gave us manual in English and camp site guide for use. Because it was our first motorhome experience, they show DVD movie about motorhomes and their using. And after that manager show everything one more time in the motorhome. Mcrent charged deposit 750 euro from my credit card. And after motorhome return they made refund. Because my card's count isn't in euro, I lost about 40 euros on conversion in two directions. If mcrent can only block the deposit, and unblock it after return, I wouldn't lost anything. Generally, we are very glad to deal with ideamerge and mcrent.

posted on 29 November 2011, vendor was McRent Spain

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour of Andalusia with a McRent motorhome. The motorhome met all our expectations. Minor criticisms are that there should have been a better selection of pots/pans. There was no toaster or kettle supplied and the outside table and chairs were of poor quality, torn and uncomfortable.

posted on 11 October 2011, vendor was McRent Spain

We were pleased with the service from IdeaMerge and McRent's agent in Madrid. We travelled nearly 17,000km throughout western Europe over 2.5 months. We were impressed with the fuel economy of the McRent Fiat 2 berth motorhome which achieved less than 10 liters per 100km over the 17,000km. We chose to not drive on the motorways/toll ways as much as possible so that we could see more of the country and the smaller towns. Our only regret was not looking at hiring an even smaller van-type vehicle which was narrower and lower to allow better access into the center of the older towns with narrow streets, and the potential to park in these towns. We hired camping table and chairs but did not use them because we were always visiting the towns or places we stayed at, only getting back in time for bed. We had a great holiday.

posted on 12 August 2011, vendor was McRent Spain

We picked up our RV in Barcelona and a bit of a mix up at the airport for the shuttle, but no big deal. Mario was awesome at the station and we got a larger unit at no extra cost. Mario went through everything with us and even though we didn't speak much Spanish and he spoke ver little English we figured everything out. The RV was awesome perfect for 3 people. Clean and ready to roll. The only thing I would have liked to have known was that it didn't come with any dishes or cooking stuff, so we had to buy some stuff. Bike rack was awesome and the chairs and table we rented were pretty old, but worked fine. No issues with the RV and ran awesome. No shuttle back to the airport and we ended up spending like $50 on a cab which was unexpected. I would rent again!!

posted on 11 August 2011, vendor was McRent Spain

We rented a Mcrent RV through IdeaMerge. Everything was so professional. The paper work at McRent was easy. Thier staff was very nice explaining all the details to make it an easy travel. The RV had only 8000km aprox, so we could consider it new. We traveled throughout Spain, Italy and France. Everything fabulous, exept fot the toll rd costs. Regarding the overall experience, it's a must for everyone, at least once in your life time. Although never do it without a GPS. JUST DO IT!!

USA AND MEXICO, posted on 27 July 2011, vendor was McRent Spain

Rented a camper from Madrid McRent and toured around Spain and Portugal for the whole of April 2011. As usual the IdeaMerge booking was flawless and professional. The pickup and drop-off were good. This is the third time we have rented a camper from McRent and it was by far the most comprehensive and informative process yet. The camper was in great condition and with new kitchen utensils and extras. The trip itself was also our best so far, Spain is an amazing country and very camper friendly.

IMHO the only way to see Europe is with a campervan, a GPS, bicycles and booked with McRent through IdeaMerge.

posted on 28 June 2011, vendor was McRent Spain

We rented a motorhome in Madrid from McRent. We took a taxi from the airport and it took at least 20 minutes for the taxi driver to find the company. The pick up process was fast with no problem. Although the car and the GPS were brand new, the GPS didn't work for couple times. The power cable broke two days before our scheduled return time. We have no choice but to return the car one day earlier. The staff at the McRent fixed the power cable and suggested us to continue with the rental for the last day. It was not the issue of one day rental charge, but the issue of time. We did not want to go through all the cleaning and packing process just for another day because it was a waste of time during holidays. Anyway, we did not get the one day rental refund. Apart from these, it was a great experience.

posted on 24 April 2011, vendor was McRent Spain

We rented motorhome at the end of September in Barcelona in McRent. It was fourth time when we rented the auto in McRent. The motorhome is almost new, the big refrigerator, is a lot of lockers. With rent and return has not any problems , all was fast and precise.

posted on 18 October 2010, vendor was McRent Spain

Four of us were a bit reluctant to rent a camper in Spain, but when I called the toll-free number, found to be talking to very helpful and experienced Americans! Late decision to take vacation, but they still arranged for a clean, larger camper, complete with kitchen utensils,chairs and table. (I suggest you bring your own sleeping bags). Everything on trip was good, didn't drive too far from Barcelona - along the Costa Brava and stayed on the beaches for ten days. Excelente!

Upon arriving back home in Canada, realized we had left a favorite Jacket in the taxi shuttle. Idea Merge found it and mailed it N/C! Oh Yeah! we'll use them again. --thanx!

posted on 26 September 2010, vendor was McRent Spain

Rented the Motorhome from Barcelona with four friends. Had an extra upgrade without expenses and the best was that for an small extra fee we would be able to leave the Motorhome in Gijon (north spain) from which we would end our holiday. A friendly collector from ideamerge collected our motorhome and drove it back to Barcelona. Thanks to that we have saved ourselves a trip back to Barcelona or Madrid and could enjoy our trip longer. Ideamerge, thanks for the great work!!!

posted on 16 September 2010, vendor was McRent Spain

We tried the camper experience in New Zealand for the first time. We enjoyed it so much that we decided to rent one for our next vacation in Spain. Renting through IdeaMerge was a breeze and I found the service excellent. We had to arrange special pick up to accommodate our bike transportation and IdeaMerge helped us.

At the pick up location in Barcelona, we were upgraded w/o extra fees - again to accommodate our bikes. The camper was great and brand-new (only 9km)! One thing I'd suggest is to play a DVD for the camper instructions. Tourists could pick the language of their choice. When we picked the camper up, there was only one person and he was Spanish-speaking only. He was nice but we had hard time to understand. Besides that everything was fine. I'd use IdeaMerge services again in a next trip.

posted on 10 September 2010, vendor was McRent Spain

We picked up our motorhome, having driven from England through France in our car, north of Barcelona and spent our first night in their car-park during a spectacular thunderstorm. It seemed a better idea to manouvere it's 21 foot length in the cold light of day being a couple of novices. Issac, who was our English speaking contact at McRent, was kind and gentle in his induction, but forgot to tell us of the stabilisers we should have lowered on the van when taking up residence in campsites. A very kind german gentleman pointed out the error of our ways later. We had a splendid experience not without its challenges and travelled from Barcelona almost to Malaga and inland through the Sierra Nevada and Granada - the Alahambra is a must do. We travelled about 2,500km.

posted on 19 July 2010, vendor was McRent Spain

We picked our camper up in Madrid - no problems - very efficient- note: take your INTERNATIONAL AND LOCAL DRIVERS LICENSE with - more apparently for the Gaurdia Civil - we were stopped but showed them the international one and the passport. No problems. Our van had 45 000km - very clean neat and modern. We has heard the rental of the cutlery and crockery was not worth it - so we just hired the table and chairs and bought stuff at Ikea - probably saved about 50 euro. Dropping off the van was also no problem - we cleaned it really well - so it all went swimmingly. Idea merge was excellent - would DEFINATELY use them again.

posted on 1 July 2010, vendor was McRent Spain

Thanks again - your service great as always. Main complaint is that with vendor Euromotorhome [in contrast to McRent] we got old, superseded machine. Severe Motorhome envy whenever we went to campground. [Note: IdeaMerge no longer represents Euromotorhome.] Euromotorhome service and pickup fine-always get nervous re deposit- no problemo.

posted on 16 May 2010

My holiday was made special by the peace of mind provided by idea merge.

posted on 28 January 2010, vendor was McRent Spain






Our customers are welcome to add their own reviews here.