Our Customer Reviews

Norway RV Rental

IdeaMerge Norway RV Rentals
Average 4.6 stars out of 5
Based on: 27 reviews

Remember, it's cheaper to book via IdeaMerge.
We are all about best price, transparency and service.

5 stars: 17
4 stars: 10
3 stars: 0
2 stars: 0
1 stars: 0

 

Great service, smooth.

IdeaMerge were an excellent company to do business with. I booked a motorhome through them and I couldn't ask for a better service. I had a query regarding a change in McRent's policies which would have changed our drop-off, and IdeaMerge were quick and professional to respond. McRent were also excellent and we were able to drop off our van quickly and with no issues, and weren't charged anything extra. The van itself was a globecar 600l, it was great to drive and felt reliable, and we were able to enjoy hot showers (once we worked out how to operate the boiler...and the freeze protection). We did a loop from Oslo to the Arctic and travelled through Sweden and Denmark, as well as Norway, we incurred some toll charges in Sweden, which McRent were happy to pay. I'd definitely recommend a motorhome holiday around Scandinavia as it was the best way to see everything in a few weeks.

Scotland, posted on 22 November 2016, vendor was McRent Norway

Solica rental in Norway

Brand new motorhome. Very professional vendor. Great holidays.

France, posted on 28 August 2016, vendor was Solica

Highly recommended

It was our first experience with an RV, and it was excellent. Service of ideamerge was great and the touring cars team in Norway was very professional and helpful, Our request is to have the Norwaigen campsite's magazine in English.

Lebanon, posted on 27 August 2016, vendor was Touring Cars

IdeaMerge great! McRent needs improvement

The booking through IdeaMerge worked out great. We got everything we booked and even an upgrade to a bigger vehicle, which of course meant much higher fuel consumption but also more space and it was brand new.

The only downside: the McRent clerk unfortunately seemed to be a temp who didn't really know how everything worked. It took him forever to do all the paperwork and we even had to point out, what and where we needed to sign and what we needed a copy of, so we got our proper contracts, He also seemed a bit stressed, since 2 parties required service at the same time, which left him a bit ill-humoured.

Overall a good experience, though. I would definately book through IdeaMerge again.

Switzerland, posted on 15 August 2016, vendor was McRent Norway

great

Vehicle was perfect. The Service when we picked up and dropped off the vehicle was average.

Bern Switzerland, posted on 13 July 2016, vendor was McRent Norway

Our summer vacation

THIS is the way to travel through Norway when you have relatives in some places, but want to explore the country and possible ancestral homes. The cist of the RV is worth it because we were abke to cook our own meals and camp in affordable camp grounds or somewhere (anywhere) beside the road. The fuel economy was excellent.

North Dakota USA, posted on 11 July 2016, vendor was McRent Norway

Awesome Norway

Great camper, great service, awesome country.

UK, posted on 13 June 2016, vendor was McRent Norway

Norway Adventure

The Motor home itself was incredible and had everything we needed.

First time I ever used a motor home and loved it. Did not even use a camp site once on our trip.

Best way to see Norway would be in a motor home. Travelling across the Fjords and beautiful landscapes of Norway as well as the small fishing villages and mountains, creeks and streams.

McRent was professional in all aspects and would definately use them again unless I purchase my very own motor home.

London, posted on 6 May 2016, vendor was McRent Norway

Fantastic experience

The whole experience with IdeaMerge and Solica was excellent. Very simple to arrange, we picked the motorhome up in Stavanger and dropped it off 2 weeks later in Tromso, Norway.

The motorhome was lovely, well equipped, spacious and clean.

IdeaMerge organised everything and made it very easy and Solica were happy to help too.

All in a fantastic holiday and service! Thankyou.

England, posted on 13 October 2015, vendor was Solica

Norway Roadtrip 2015

We rented a motorhome from Touring Cars in September 2015. The motorhome was new and perfectly functioning. We drove many tourist roads in Norway and found them to be very narrow so a bit stressful, especially when approaching curves and not being able to see what vehicles are coming in the opposite direction. Also, beware that diesel pumps are marked black in Norway but green in the US. We had some engine trouble caused by us which was handled quickly by Touring Cars staff. Be very careful of the kitchen counter and table top. Apparently they are made with materials that are light in weight but not durable. The cost for replacement is > $1500 US. We found the bath houses at all NAF campgrounds to be better than those in the US. All campgrounds we stayed at had free wifi too. Be careful of speeding and watch out for the cameras.

Overall we had a great trip and the motorhome was comfortable. Being able to cook our own meals saved us a bundle of money! We would rent from Touring Cars again.

California, USA, posted on 8 October 2015, vendor was Touring Cars

Bonjour à tous, Nous avons été très satisfait du campeur que nous avons eu en location pour 30 jours. Nous avons été très bien accueillis par le gérant de McRent. Il nous a de plus donné de bons conseils pour débuter notre voyage.

Seul petit hic, sur la liste des articles inclus (poèle, cafetière) dans le campeur, il en manquait quelques uns. Assurez-vous de vérifier et de demander. Le gérant a pu les ajouter à notre demande.

Nous avons beaucoup aimé notre première expérience en campeur! Excellent choix pour le climat de la Norvège.

posted on 10 July 2015, vendor was McRent Norway

Avons réservé un camping car pour un road trip en Norvège. Tout s'est très bien passé de la réservation au retour de caution du loueur local. Excellentes communication et prise en charge (peut on faire mieux ?) pour le prix le plus bas du marché.

Compagnie recommandée ! Si nous repartons en camping car, nous referons appel à IDEAMERGE !

posted on 14 September 2014, vendor was McRent Norway

Die gesamte Abwicklung der Buchung verlief einwandfrei. Ebenso die Uebergabe des Fahrzeugs bei der Ankunft und Heimreise (in Oslo). Die Qualität und der Zustand des Fahrzeugs war ebenfalls einwandfrei und Übertraf unsere Erwartungen.

Fazit: Wir können IdeaMerge wärmstes empfehlen.

Switzerland, posted on 21 August 2014, vendor was McRent Norway

have booked from Ideamerge a camp-car for 4 people during 7 days with collection in Bergen and restitution in Klofta (Oslo)-Norway/July 2014.

Solica provided us a very new vehicule fulfilling all our needs. Explanations (from Timo) were perfectly clear and honest. Time taken for the check-in and check-out was ideal: we had all our time to ask all our questions, and to check the vehicule; but it was not too long. well, we faced no problem on the road.

The main improvement could be to have in the motorhome, a registered card for the tolls on the roads (otherwise to pay for the tolls, you have to use an application to declare your identity and the dates of the rental towards the registration number of the RV).

We had an urgent question about the place of collection and requested Ideamerge to bring us their support. We expected, and did have, a prompt answer about this issue: Doug replied very quickly, showing a great reliability, as in all the management of our dossier. Great professionalism.

Thus, I'll trust Ideamerge for a next booking. Thanks.

posted on 3 August 2014, vendor was Solica

The Oslo representative met us at the airport and took us to the parking of the motorhomes. We were given a thorough briefing on the motorhome and all related equipment. Excellent! The motorhome was 1 year old. The motorhome was comfortable, reliable and we managed to drive over 2,500 km without any problem. All the equipment worked well. When we returned the motorhome, the final check was smooth and the local team took us to the airport.We would definitely rent from IdeaMerge again.

Israel, posted on 17 September 2011, vendor was Touring Cars

Thanks, we had a great holiday this summer in Norway. The booking through Idea Merge went smoothly — no frills, attention to detail, prompt and clear replies to queries. The camper van we picked up was in pristine condition and the reception staff at Touring Cars were multilingual, friendly, efficient, and informative. We have absolutely no complaints. Quite the opposite — we enjoyed the whole experience, felt that we received excellent service and good value for money. The camp sites we stayed on were all first class — clean (especially the sanitation blocks) and spacious. We're already planning a similar holiday next year!

posted on 15 September 2011, vendor was Touring Cars

The booking of the motorhome through Ideamerge worked very well. They were friendly and replied promptly to all the questions I had. We picked up the motorhome (C3 class) from DRM in their Frankfurt, Germany, location. The staff was quite friendly and we should not complain much about the pick up (nor the return) except for the 3 following points: - the kitchen set was uncomplete and lacked some important / practical stuff - there were no hangers in the wardrobe, which I find a pity as we had to stop during the trip to buy some, - DRM gave us only 1 dose of chemical for the toilets for 16 days rental...again we had to stop to buy some. Besides these 3 points, we had no mechanical problems with the vehicule, which was quite new and nice to drive.

Last point was a bit of a concern for us when travelling with 2 kids (1 year old and 4 years old). Indeed the 2 "high" beds and certain spots such as the seats structure were not very safe and had sharpe edges.

I highly recommend Ideamerge for those who want to get a good deal for their money.

I also recommend DRM (of Germany), though a few points will need to be double checked at the time of the pick up in order to have a perfect holiday!

BR Sylvain

posted on 6 September 2011

El alquiler de la autocaravana con IDEAMERGE ha sido del todo satisfactorio. En un principio contactamos con su sede en Barcelona lo que nos permitió entendernos en español . A través del correo electrónico nos poniamos en contacto y contestaban con gran rapidez. Viajar en autocaravana es una experiencia muy gratificante porque te permite parar en los lugares que desees sin estar sujetos a periodos de tiempo. Los camping están muy bien preparados pero si no llegabamos aparcabamos en cualquier lugar del camino En Bergen Alesún....hay aparcamientos para autocaravanas. Las carreteras son estrechas por eso hay que ser buen conductor.

posted on 28 August 2011, vendor was Touring Cars

This has been our first experience in a motorhome. In our country, this kind of trips are not so common as in the north of Europe, so we had many doubts before making up our minds. IdeaMerge web page was really useful.

From the very beginning we have felt we have made the right decision. Choosing IdeaMerge and Touring Cars was a great idea. Both the booking and the pick up/drop off process have been really easy. The girl who went to pick us up in the airport (Nina) was really nice and she gave us all the instructions to use the MH. We had no trouble at all. Furthermore, all the questions we had during the booking process were answered very quickly by e-mail.

We would like to repeat this experience in the future. Unfortunately, it is a bit expensive so we have to save some money until we can repeat!!!

Thank you so much for this great experience!!

posted on 23 August 2011, vendor was Touring Cars

Thanks IdeaMerge give me a nice experiences. From pickup to dropoff, we received good services. Norway and Sweden are both beautiful and wonderful countries. The persons are all friendly. We always can communicate with them in English. That's why we choose these countries as our honeymoon places. The campervan is new and comfortable. Thanks the agents of IdeaMerge and Touring Cars. They always try their best to deal with the problems or questions that I asked as soon as possible. In summary, we have nice experiences in Scandinavia. THANK YOU IdeaMerge and Touring Cars.

Taiwan, posted on 10 August 2011, vendor was Touring Cars

Having read a number of reviews, we are in agreement with most points noted thus far. Pick up great,.. but a little tedious and painstaking, service people fantastic, and the run down on the vehicle great. It was a little daunting for me, however, being an automatic, left hand drive vehicle driver for 35 years, to have to alter to a manual, right hand side driver for this trip!! A few trips around the block though soon sorted this problem out!! The trip around Norway was brilliant, but remember to account for the numerous ferry tolls you will have to pay, as well as the road tolls!! The basic inclusions were OK in the home, but as others have stated, tables & chairs, chocks, and a taoster would be a valuable addition to your vehicles, at no cost. As the items are basically non destructible, (!!), you will be getting your dollars back for them 100 times over by making your clients pay for them, (hmmm).

Finally the hand over we had was not too bad, but others at the depot at the same time were being hit with fault notices on their vehicles, which in fairness seemed excessive, and expensive, so watch out!!

Overall a very pleasant experience, and rest assured that if the Norwegian ecomony ever crumbles, we'll be back in a flash!!! Happy driving!!

Perth, Western Australia, posted on 19 June 2011, vendor was Touring Cars

We picked up the RV in Oslo. Everything was arranged fine. The pick up procedure was done really good by a very polite stuff member. We traveled to Trondheim (to watch our favorite football team, ARIS, playing againts Rosenborg) and drove back to Oslo via Bergen. It took us a week. It was an excellent experience. Norway is a beautyfull country and I think the best way to travel is with a camper. There are a lot, and most of them really nice places to park either for a break or for nightstaying. I have to express my conserns about the drop off procedure. A big dent was found on the top of the RV that I can not imagine what caused it but since I had signed that everything was fine when we picked up the RV I did not really argue about it since I thought it is meaningless. But it will cost me a lot (a still do not know the exact amount) the stuff at drop off told me. I did not ready the review board before. If I had i would have been more carefull at pick up.

Ptolemaida, Greece, posted on 17 October 2010, vendor was Touring Cars

campercars are strong (model ford, mid size camper), interieur not quite so good. check the wooden base board in the rear seats (it ist quite a weak board to begin with and wears off fast) we had to improvise and support it, unused toilet chemicals are not taken back which was a bit weird, service was good, value for money? Hey if you want and can afford to go to Norway, thats a good way to remain flexible!

austria, posted on 16 September 2010, vendor was Touring Cars

Very good experience. The camper was brand new and very confortable. Too long the time spent for checking the camper at the drop off. The cost per week is quite expensive, but overall we received a good service.

posted on 14 September 2010, vendor was Touring Cars

August 2010: We absolutely loved our camping experience and would do it again in a flash. One suggestion: Better return directions to the Oslo site, as we did get lost.

posted on 14 September 2010, vendor was Touring Cars

Ideamerge organised for us the rental of a motorhome from Touring Cars from 12-25 June 2010. Touring Cars collected us from Oslo airport and drove us to their depot where we had a full briefing on the use of the vehicle. The staff were very helpful and patient (this was our first experience of motorhome life) and gave us lots of useful information. We drove from Oslo to Tromso in June ... the vehicle was cosy and warm and we managed to eat well, despite the limited cooking facilities. We found that the vehicle was nimble enough to cope with city as well as highway driving and we explored several places en route. The return journey was in slightly better weather and by now we were more confident about "wild" camping away from campsites. This made us completely free to choose the time and place of our overnight stops - very liberating! We had a fantastic time in Norway and would certainly recommend what we did to friends. It is unlikely that we will rent again, however, as we are now sold on the idea of buying our own motorhome! What we would suggest to others includes: 1 Don't go for the minimum size. Extra space is great, especially if it means you don't have to assemble the bed every night! 2 Don't feel tied to campsites. Try side roads and lake sides (being careful not to cause damage or leave litter, of course!) 3 Eating out in Norway is hugely expensive. However, supermarket shopping is reasonable and there are are some wonderful things that are new to UK palates. We loved the smoked salmon and are so glad we happened on the cloudberry jam by accident - now addicted! The whale meat got one yes and one no in our family!! 4 We thought that the motorhome kitchen equipment was a bit basic and would have benefited from simple things that we have told Touring Cars about. 5 The road toll system in Norway takes some getting used to. We were led to believe we could pay at Post Offices, which turned out to be incorrect and so we lost the chance to pay. It should have been possible to register and pay up to 1 4 days after the first charge but for some technical reason this proved difficult. We suggest that overseas visitors register at www.autopass.no - Visitors' Payment before travelling.

In summary, we had a great time and would recommend both Ideamerge and Touring Cars to anyone. Thanks to them both!

posted on 16 July 2010, vendor was Touring Cars

We drove 9 days through South Norway, visiting the most beautiful landscapes. The Ideamerge's staff were very kind and professional. They explained us everything about our RV, so we had no problem in our fisrt experience with this type of vehicles. The van was comfortable and almost new. We are sure we will repeat experience visiting Finland soon!

posted on 30 June 2010, vendor was Touring Cars

 

 

 

 

 

Our customers are welcome to add their own reviews here.