Our Customer Reviews

Netherlands RV Rental

IdeaMerge Netherlands RV Rentals
Average 4.4 stars out of 5
Based on: 19 reviews

Remember, it's cheaper to book via IdeaMerge.
We are all about best price, transparency and service.

5 stars: 8
4 stars: 10
3 stars: 1
2 stars: 0
1 stars: 0

 

Good but major oversight

The camper was nice inside, had everything that we needed inside however there was a major oversight that put a dampener on the trip for us.

To be fair the guys running the rental didn't cause the damage however there was substantial damage that was not apparent until you were driving in rain. The people who rented before us dropped it back the day before we collected and initially we were shown cosmetic damage and told there were 4 new tires. It wasn't until we got on the road and were halfway through Belgium that there were bugger issues, as we drive through a heavy thunder shower water began to flow out from under the shower unit and the bench. Upon inspection of the underneath of the van we found that the seemingly cosmetic damage had in fact left a hole in the bottom of the van and although when dry or once parked up everything as fine the hassle that water flowing through the van caused was immense. There was a constant almost damp feel inside the van as the weather was poor for the 2 weeks and most vexing was the complete disregard with which my query about the damage and picture of the results was dealt with merely being told "hopefully the weather improves" I don't think or at least I hope it's not a reflection on the rental place that they would let people out on the continent in a van that essentially was not road worthy and I would hope that it was merely down to oversight due to the fast turnaround.

Hopefully it doesnt ruin anyone else's holiday.

Ireland, posted on 4 July 2016, vendor was BW Campers

The whole process from booking to handing back the van was close to perfection. Kind, courteous, patient and knowledgeable which was great for a first timer. IdeaMerge assisted us in ensuring a stress free holiday, taxis, pre-ordering of essentials (towels and bedding) and checking all was ready before we left. McRent were great and gave a detailed briefing but we did have to remind them to actually provide the towels, would have been interesting otherwise. A bit of self-inflicted damage was discussed and resolved with no fuss. A great customer focused experience. thank you. PS, the option to hire bikes at McRent might be useful as would the option to rent outdoor chairs to make use of the canopy.

posted on 8 September 2015, vendor was McRent Netherlands

We rented a motorhome in Netherlands and toured Germany, Austria, Switzerland, France and Belgium. Everything went really well and we had no problems. The motorhome was equipped with necessities but we would like to ask to have cleaning supplies such as a toilet brunch, windex and sink cleaners provided. We purchased a camping book from the depot at pickup that was in Dutch so a bit awkward to use but we managed. I would definitely go by motorhome again and would recommend Ideamerge and McRent.

posted on 10 July 2015, vendor was McRent Netherlands

We hired a motorhome on a whim and then wondered why, as we'd never been camping before! However, we loved it! The pick-up of the van was smooth and we were shown how everything worked. The van itself was almost new and spotless inside and out and was well equipped with everything we needed. We also hired 2 bikes, with mine being electric (husband thought I might need help as I'd not been on a bike in 30 years). We loved the bikes too!

All in all, we had a great holiday and wouldn't hesitate to use Ideamerge and McRent again, or recommend them to anyone interested in hiring and touring in a motorhome. Thank you McRent!!

UK, posted on 3 June 2015, vendor was McRent Netherlands

Pick up was easy with transfer from Schipol. Word of warning book the transfer when you book you RV as we were ripped off by the taxi driver for the return journey which we did not book. So GBP25 out and GBP60 return. Apart from this which was our fault the pick up was smooth and easy. The guys at McRent gave a clear and concise handover. The RV was clean and well maintained. We had a great 10 days touring the lovely Netherlands. Thanks McRent!

St Andrews, Scotland, posted on 21 October 2014, vendor was McRent Netherlands

Check out was quick and efficient from the Almere-Buiten depot. We drove over 2,000 miles in 21 days touring 6 different countries. The U.S. cannot hold a candle to Europe regarding RV camping. The only suggestion to make it better is that campground directories be provided also in English. It was difficult to decipher the description or even locations. Other than that, the trip was fabulous and the unit performed flawlessly.

posted on 12 September 2014, vendor was McRent Netherlands

This was the best vacation ever!! The motor-home we were given was brand new. We really lucked out. The price was great and the motor-home had everything we needed. We drove 5,500 KM in 26 days to 7 countries. We are already planning our next trip to Europe. Thanks again McRent and IdeaMerge.

posted on 22 June 2013, vendor was McRent Netherlands

June 2012 Rented via IdeaMerge from McRent, Amsterdam - omg! what delightful people - collected from train station, demo'ed van, lots of hints. Van was absolutely fine - had wanted a slightly bigger van but in the end the one we were given was perfect.On returning I managed to leave some clothes behind - again no problem - Irene just mailed them on! Unconditional recommendation!

Cape Town, South Africa, posted on 13 October 2012, vendor was McRent Netherlands

We (wife & self) rented a RV for 28 days Henk Booij at Almere-Buiten some 35 minutes by train from Amsterdam. Henk was very helpful and explained how the accommodation worked. The vehicle was nearly 2 years old and in good condition. We toured Germany and Austria and rarely spent our nights in a fee charging camping grounds. The camp guide book Henk provided gave us plenty of free camp sites to use.

posted on 16 September 2011, vendor was McRent Netherlands

We arrived from our home in Canada to visit the land of our roots on May 16, 2011. Rene at BW Campers greeted us with a very good sense of humor and a thorough review of features of our camper home for the next 15 days in Europe. We enjoyed our well-outfitted camper very much during our tour of Belgium and the Netherlands. In fact, we have been missing the cosiness and comfort (gezelligheit) of the Ford Nugget and will definitely consider camping in Europe when we go there again in the future.

posted on 26 June 2011, vendor was BW Campers

We rented the RV for Easter holidays. We were headed to Denmark and Norway. Henk was very patient on the pick up as I got stuck in rush hour traffic in Amsterdam making a 1 hour trip into a 2.5 hour trip. If I had the option I would take the train to the pick up point next time. The RV was very new and everything worked well and we had no problems with the use or driving of the RV. The ferries ask RVs to be backed onto the front of the boat. That was a little scary.

The experience was quite straight forward on the paperwork and dealing with Ideamerge. Thanks.

posted on 22 June 2011, vendor was McRent Netherlands

My wife and I picked up the van in Almere about 45 km north of central Amsterdam. We phoned Henk (the owner of the depot) on arrival at the train station and he picked us up in our van minutes later. Henk was vey helpful and showed us around the van and demonstrated how everything worked. The van was a Fiat Ducato 3 berth 2.5 lt diesel with 48000 klms on the clock and two years old. I was slightly suprised at the high mileage but it made no difference in the end as the van was great and ran faultlessly for the two week 3000 klm vacation (we ended up in Italy). On return Henk was just as helpful and quicky ran through the checks signed the van back in and ran us to the train station. We have hired through IdeaMerge a McRent RV twice now and both times it has been easy to order, pick up and drop off. I would recommend.

posted on 17 October 2010, vendor was McRent Netherlands

We picked up the McRent Motor Home in East Amsterdam, and we were greeted by a very friednly staff. Henk (the owner) took us out to go over the motor home and was very pleasent. The camper had about 13,000 km on it and it was very clean. It go great fuel milage on it. It cost 300 euro for 21 days of travel over 3800 km. The only problem we had with the camper was that the engine light was on (however Henk told us about it at the start of our trip and not to worry about it being on).

This is a first time using Ideamerge and McRent, and I would surely used them again on our next visit to Europe. The only thing that I would suggest that they have in the Camper is a bigger rug for outside the camper. Otherwise it was great. Thank you for your great service and say heloo to Henk and staff.

posted on 1 October 2010, vendor was McRent Netherlands

We picked up the McRent Camper in The Netherlands. My Brother, Father and myself. It was a short walk from the train station, about 2-3 miles. Henk was very nice and accommodating to our travel times.

The camper had only 3,000km and was practically brand new for our 22 day vacation. Functional, economical, and reasonable. It got great fuel milage for its size (avg 12l/100km) good power, and very tight tuning radius. We had no issues the entire trip. Drop off was just as easy. We then trekked back to the train and back to Schiphol airport. Our journey was over 6500km in 22 days. We did a lot of driving, but the camper never complained.

This is the first time using Ideamerge, and McRent. I was originally skeptical about renting a camper over seas, and using internet only corrispondence. It was so simple and secure to make reservations, there is no doubt in my mind I will use them again for our next european trip - I know they will be there, and the camper we get will be in superb shape.

posted on 7 July 2010, vendor was McRent Netherlands

We collected the camper from the depot outside Amsterdam without any due hardship via train and bus. The camper was first class with all the bells and whistles we had ordered. We used it tour Holland looking for a boat to purchase and it was ideal. Camp sites in Holland are outstanding, well organised, clean and like all the citizens of Holland the personel at the camp sites were helpful and pleasant. We found that in Holland most of the younger folk spoke excellent English. We would use both Ideamerge and McRent again.

posted on 27 August 2009, vendor was McRent Netherlands

We just got back from a 2 week RV vacation in the Netherlands. We rented from the Amsterdam location and the people there were wonderful. Very helpful and friendly. We had a little problem with the engine light, we called them and they took care of it immediately. Otherwise it ran like new. We camped in Brugge, Belgium and took the bus and rail to other cities and sites in the area, we found this to be the easiest. This is the 3rd time we rented a McRent RV, once in France and once in Germany and every time we very extremely happy and pleased with the RV and people we dealt with. Thank you IdeaMerge and McRent for making it possible for us to see the world.

posted on 31 March 2009, vendor was McRent Netherlands

Picked up the van in Amsterdam and recieved a very nice van along with complete operating instructions. Enjoyed my 15 days touring in Holland, Belgium, France and Germany. Only one small problem with the lights which I had repaired. The cost was promptly refunded upon my return.

posted on 20 October 2007, vendor was McRent Netherlands

We picked up the Camper in Amsterdam and found Ideamerge's camper to be well equipped and in good order. We drove all of 7200km in the two weeks that we rented the camper and found no problems. There were a few small things inside of the vehicle that needed some attention, but as with any rented vehicle some wear and tear is to be expected. Thank you for enhancing our experience with great service and good prices.

posted on 7 August 2007, vendor was McRent Netherlands

Bonjour Eric! As you know we are french. But I'll continue my e-mail in english, despite I can make some mistakes...It was at Spring 2003 and we've rent a BW Campers motorhome for 6 people in Amsterdam via...Oregon ! But we weren't disappointed at all ! You were very very very helpful and for that we are still grateful to you. The Vendor, Rene, in Amsterdam was, as we say in french "un sacre personnage"; he looked like a mediterranean native, very helpful too and always smiling and making jokes ! The motorhome was perfect, clean and not ...old. Rene took the time to explain a lot of important things to us for driving, making manoeuvres (I guess you use that word in english..) and so on.

We were very pleased to meet him and our regret is not having met you in Portland last year when we came, my husband and me.

We have been given here the opportunity to thank you once more for your kindness. Please tell a great HELLO from us to Rene. - Elisabeth

posted on 26 February 2005, vendor was BW Campers

 

 

 

 

 

Our customers are welcome to add their own reviews here.