Our Customer Reviews

Iceland RV Rental

IdeaMerge Iceland RV Rentals
Average 4.7 stars out of 5
Based on: 35 reviews

Remember, it's cheaper to book via IdeaMerge.
We are all about best price, transparency and service.

5 stars: 29
4 stars: 3
3 stars: 3
2 stars: 0
1 stars: 0

 

Very Good

As below, thorough explanation of facilities. Looked brand new motor home though seemed flimsily made. We were careful with it. Adequately provisioned with utensils, though could do with bowls (as below) and more pillows. However, they provided us with extra pillows for no cost which was good of the staff. No complaints at all.

UK, posted on 23 November 2016, vendor was McRent Iceland

lovely van in very good condition. Thorough explanation of features and operation given on arrival. Staff were easy to contact throughout our stay and both handovers were done without having to wait for other customers. Couple of minor issues were that some of the locks on external doors were difficult to latch and operate, possibly due to wear and tear. Would have liked some bowls and sharper knives provided but otherwise adequatley equipped. would use again with no hesitation

uk, posted on 16 October 2016, vendor was McRent Iceland

Try to rent a McRent if you can

Campers Iceland were understaffed and overworked. When we arrived we waited for a while for the staff to deal with another group. When they started to take care of us, another group was having trouble with their Wi-Fi router so our guy went out to help them. Eventually we were given a very quick tour of our camper, and very little explanation. After our guy left, I realized he hadn't given me the pocket Wi-Fi I rented so I went back to ask for him. I overheard the staff talking about not ever having a break so they were quickly eating a pizza in the back. He eventually brought it to me so I was ready to leave. The RV door wouldn't lock so I went back inside the office to tell them but my guy had already left. They called him and asked him to come back and I waited another 20 minutes for him to see that yes, the door was not going to lock and so he left to get a mechanic who came and checked it and then left to get his tools. With his trusty crowbar he fixed it and I was on my way. When I got to my destination I realized that the sunroof was open and the lever you pull for the gray water was sticking out the whole time. The camper itself was beautiful. Very new and wonderful to drive. It was impossible to shut the toilet door and the RV's door still wouldn't lock from the outside so we would always have to go in and out through the driver's door when we needed The RV locked. The RV came with no broom or toilet paper or chemicals for the toilet but you could pay extra for those. My brother and father both rented from McRent and it sounds like they have much better service -with explanations on how to use all of the amenities and how to read the wind-warning signs, etc, so they were able to help me since I got very little information from Campers Iceland when I picked up my camper. When I returned the camper I was questioned about two big dents in the back but I had luckily taken pictures of them the day I picked it up so I showed them to him, which was sufficient. I went with my dad to return his RV to the McRent place and I could see for myself that they had much better facilities and service. All in all my trip was the best vacation of my life. My family had a wonderful time in the RV. Everything was amazing. I was a little jealous of my dad and brother as their McRent campers seem to have been better maintained even though they were a little older than my camper. In conclusion Campers Iceland was understaffed and the Campers not really well-maintained compared to McRent. if you can, choose McRent. If there aren't any available there or elsewhere, Campers Iceland is better than nothing. I loved every minute of being in that RV, it just took an unnecessary while to get it, it was just a small hassle to try to lock it and also my wife did not like the fact you couldn't close the toilet door.

Japan, posted on 13 October 2016, vendor was Camper Iceland

Rolling slice of Heaven

We were picked up from the airport and rode to the McRent depot in our camper. After doing the paperwork and having an extensive and extremely helpful orientation to all the systems and functions of the RV we were off on adventure. The first day was windy but the RV handled well though we were happy when the wind died down. The Compact Plus RV was comfortable for the 2 of us. We enjoyed waking up to a different spectacular view each morning. The same was true when we stopped to prepare and enjoy a hot lunch somewhere along the road. This was our first RV vacation but certainly not the last IdeaMerge and McRent really have things organized and prepared and set you up for a wonderful experience.

Tunisia, posted on 11 October 2016, vendor was McRent Iceland

cannot ask for more

IdeaMerge found that camper for us in Iceland when pretty much everybody else was already sold out. The service, advice and all the little extra perks from IdeaMerge were much appreciated and deserve a 5 star rating. Camper Iceland itself is a well established and well organized RV and car rental company in Iceland. Our camper was very new and modern, in excellent shape and easy to drive. Fuel efficiency was excellent and we had great fun using our camper as a base for exploring beautiful Iceland.

Ottawa, posted on 28 September 2016, vendor was Camper Iceland

Brilliant camper van.

We hired a 6 berth motor home from Mc Rent at the end of August 2016 and it was fantastic. When we picked up the van the staff were very helpful and explained everything we needed to know. The van was like new, spotless throughout with a full tank of clean water, toilet roll, a tub of blue tablets to put into waste water each time when emptied, tea towels and dish cloth and brush. There was adequate cookware to cook each day for 6.

We had 2 adults sleep on the bed in the rear, 3 teenager girls on the bed over the driver and our teenage son on the bed which converted at the table space.

Staff were very helpful letting us leave some bags with them for a couple of days at the end of our trip. No complaints at all and would recommend using Mc Rent.

UK, posted on 8 September 2016, vendor was McRent Iceland

Thank you for a perfect holiday.

We just came home from a wonderful trip to Iceland,- driving the ring road for 9 days.

Frederik from IdeaMerge was extremely helpful and nice to work with! He always answered right away and paid special attention to our smallest wishes.

He and McRent got us a a brand new campervan directly from Germany. We were the first to drive it in Iceland. It was perfect!

when we had a minor problem, we were met by a mechanic in a village near by and the problem was fixed right away.

We would love to come back for the westfjords, and there is no doubt that we will book through you guys again!

Denmark, posted on 26 July 2016, vendor was McRent Iceland

Excellent service

Excellent service and highly recommended.

Malta, posted on 21 July 2016, vendor was McRent Iceland

Best Holiday Ever

This way of traveling by campervan is simply the best way to do it in Iceland. Our family of 4 thoroughly enjoyed our seven days campervan trip out of the 10 days we were in Iceland. The staffs, especially Ollie (Hope i got it right), was totally pleasant and patient in explaining details and answering our queries as it was a first for us. The Motorhome was very new, clean and luxurious. It had two double beds, toilet and shower room, a dining area, a well equipped kitchen with cooking stoves, a sink and a refrigerator. We were awed by the storage space in every nook and corner and the comfort of every facility in the spacious truck.

We had an unfortunate hit and run accident with a car hitting off our left rear view mirror while overtaking us. Fortunately, the small bottom part of the huge mirror wasn't nipped off so we were able to continue driving. We were only one-third through the more remote part of the Ring Road and Emergency help came from McRent by their swift response in flying out a new set of mirrors to our next destination where a mechanic at a garage, got it fixed for us immediately within the hour.

Returning to the office, preparing and settling this issue, was a brisk and fair affair. Indeed, I would recommend using McRent as our experience with the service staffs are all very professional, pleasant and good. Of course while doing our best to take good and reasonable care of the Motorhome, I must add that they were not out to be fussy to try to find fault at all with the vehicle, as we so wrongly feared we might encounter.

Overall, a most out of the world and memorable trip of our lifetime.

Singapore, posted on 19 July 2016, vendor was McRent Iceland

Unforgettable! We are now hooked on RV travel!

We have just came back from an unforgettable holiday in Iceland .We rented a motor van through you with Touring cars for seven days.The service was excellent and the motor van was like a luxury studio apartment on wheels.We also felt safe as whenever we sent a message to Touring cars they answered immediately .Iceland is an amazingly beautiful place and I think it was a best choice to go around with a motor van .The scenery is breathtaking and there is so much to see. Iceland is a very expensive country but we will visit again in a couple of years .Our next trip will be Scotland and I would like to know if you rent motor vans there as we got hooked with this type of traveling now . Also suggestions when to visit best .Thank you Idea Merge.

Malta, posted on 19 May 2016, vendor was Touring Cars

we had bad luck: 1/..fridge (on gas) did not work from day 1! 2/..2 cabinets broke down, 3/..1 of the 2 (???) to cook on gave up...... 4/..the water tab was loose 5/.. the heating system did not work as it shout 6/.. left front light from te camper did not work

ones back we recived a discount(8%) Mcrent people were very friendly

belgium, posted on 25 October 2015, vendor was McRent Iceland

McRent Iceland - Keflavik

super friendly and helpful staff. the motorhome was well equipped and in great shape. we had a small issue on one occasion and were able to call the emergency assistance line. they were able to talk us through how to fix the issue that evening but also assured us that they could have someone to us the next morning if we couldn't do it ourselves. overall, an excellent experience

Atlanta, GA, USA, posted on 19 October 2015, vendor was McRent Iceland

Everything went "on wheels"

The service was great. The motorhome had everything needed. Confortable, clean, well equiped. The staff was very friendly and take great care explaining everything. Also 24hours contact telephone number in case you need something. We enjoyed everything a lot. Thank you!

Cadiz SPAIN, posted on 8 October 2015, vendor was McRent Iceland

McRent - Keflavik

I cannot fault these guys, van was in excellent condition & clean. We had a small problem with the fridge not working but it was simply a door clip position that needed adjusting, the McRent guys were contactable 24hrs & it was solved quickly. I would have no hestitation using McRent again. Thanks guys for a great holiday.

Newcastle upon Tyne -UK, posted on 8 October 2015, vendor was McRent Iceland

1 WEEK RING ROAD ON A Sunlight T68

Everything went perfectly. The rental motorhome was almost new and with everything working perfectly. Thanks for a wonderful holiday.

Barcelona, posted on 2 October 2015, vendor was McRent Iceland

Recently returned from Iceland on a 6 day trip around the island. IdeaMerge and Touring Cars organised the RV and everything went well. The briefing was good, staff very helpful, pickups went well and the RV in good condition. First time using an RV and now very enthusiastic about doing this again. Iceland is expensive but the people are friendly and the scenery fantastic.

posted on 13 August 2015, vendor was Touring Cars

The camper van was perfect for getting to see Iceland. It was comfortable, warm and well equipped. The service was excellent - it all worked smoothly and we had a great holiday.

posted on 6 August 2015, vendor was Touring Cars

Best way to visit this great country. RV was super. We recommend this way of travelling. Not cheap but a Unique experience!

posted on 29 July 2015, vendor was McRent Iceland

Great experience. Highly recommended to tour the country in a motorhome. McRent is a company with great professionals. The only but may be somewhat high price.

posted on 22 July 2015, vendor was McRent Iceland

We used IdeaMerge and Touring Cars and the service was fantastic. Access to very cheap fill internet connectivity via their galaxy pad was a bonus!

Highly recommended and the ideal way to visit Iceland..

posted on 27 June 2015, vendor was Touring Cars

IdeaMerge was great! They provided all the required information and reminded us of things to watch out for and pay close attention to. They were quick to respond to e-mails. They gave you comfort of mind after having spent such a large amount on a rental motor home which was still a couple of months away.

McRent in Iceland was very organized and they really take care of you. Just be careful not to damage anything...prices go up very quickly!

posted on 10 June 2015, vendor was McRent Iceland

It was our first time renting a campervan. That is why we decided ideamerge as everything is detailed in the contract and they booked the vehicle with a local company (touring cars) in time. No setbacks, everything went smoothly.

posted on 9 June 2015, vendor was Touring Cars

Spent 8 days in a McRent camper Van, the van was very clean and comfortable. The staff went out of their way to help us out when we had a problem while travelling. We were sent weather updates everyday to warn us of high winds and Ice on roads. Over all would recommend renting a van to any one travelling to Iceland. 100% satisfaction with van and staff experience.

posted on 5 March 2015, vendor was McRent Iceland

Can't express how smooth the pick-up and delivery process was in Iceland's McRent motorhome rental. I have reccomended this service to everyone as they are a top notch group! Thanx for the Icelandic hospitality guys ! ! !

posted on 15 November 2014, vendor was McRent Iceland

Ideamerge was prompt and helpful in setting up a rental from McRent. McRent was very thorough and helpful in getting us on our way. The camper was easy to use. We were very satisfied with this combination and have recommended Ideamerge and McRent to our friends who are interested in touring Iceland.

posted on 10 September 2014, vendor was McRent Iceland

We had no problems hiring the motorhome with Ideamerge. I would book it again!!!

posted on 10 September 2014, vendor was Touring Cars

We are so glad we decided to rent a motorhome for our trip to Iceland!! We rented from Touring cars via Idea Merge and we recomend both. We had a wonderful time, and only regret not having been able to spend more days in that beautiful country.

Mexico, posted on 31 August 2014, vendor was Touring Cars

We rented a motor home from McRent in Keflavik. They were extremely helpful and professional and went the extra mile many times during our 18 day visit to Iceland in May. Our son, who was meeting us at Keflavik from the UK, was able to collect the camper prior to our arrival as we were delayed in Amsterdam for 20 hours. We then completed all the paper work and checking of vehicle the next day and the guys from McRent answered all our questions and gave us plenty of info as well as a sim card for my phone.

There were also plenty of info pamphlets in the camper. We did unfortunately damage a rear wheel when crossing a very narrow bridge. We put on the spare wheel and McRent flew in another spare wheel the next morning, as we did not want to travel on the back roads of the Western Fjords without a spare wheel. They organised for a mechanic in a nearby village (on a Sunday) to check the vehicle. He found the damage done a bit more serious than we realized. McRent then advised us to take the ferry to Strykkisholmur where they met us with a replacement camper so that we could continue our trip. A few days later when we were near Reykjahlid, they phoned us to say our camper had been repaired and that we needed to swop vehicles again. They met us along the way so that we did not need to drive all the way back to Keflavik. So in short, our holiday did not go according to plan but McRent really did everything and much more to help us so that we still had a fantastic trip in Iceland. They didn't charge anything for the extra time and traveling involved in swopping vehicles, being only concerned that we be able to continue our trip safely. We did of course forfeit the deposit. Our holiday could so easily have turned out to be 1 week in Reykjavik without transport. They certainly do their utmost to help their clients and have such a positive attitude that nothing is a problem. They will always make a plan. Thank you most sincerely McRent Iceland. We certainly can recommend you.

South Africa, posted on 1 August 2014, vendor was McRent Iceland

The folks at IdeaMerge really do provide exceptional customer service, and I would certainly recommend booking here. The rental was from Touring Cars, and I was happy with the equipment and service we received there also. Thoroughly inspecting the vehicle and taking pictures is critical, as well as learning the vehicle, which makes the rental and return a bit tedious, but that's the reality of renting a motorhome. The RV allowed us so much freedom to explore Iceland, we couldn't have imagined doing things any differently.

Canada, posted on 31 July 2014, vendor was Touring Cars

Would recommend idea merge. We had an excellent trip and staff were v friendly.

posted on 9 October 2013, vendor was Touring Cars

We had a fantastic trip to Iceland 8-18 July, 2013. Idea Merge found a good deal (as good as you can expect on Iceland...), and the information on the homepage was quite good. The camper was nice, although well used. The team at the rental place were wery nice and friendly. We can recommend Idea Merge!

posted on 11 August 2013, vendor was Touring Cars

We rented a Touring Car motorhome for 18 days to travel the ring road and take side trips. Overall, our experience was very positive. Renting an RV is the most convenient and cost-effective way to travel the entire country.

We did experience a few issues - we reserved a motorhome to sleep only 2 seven months in advance of our trip, but got one that was designed for 6. Same price, but very large. And, a few items failed to work reliably, such as the automatic step - it would retract without notice. Also, the valve on the gray-water tank would not open, so we needed to be a little careful about how much water we collected. So, we washed our dishes at campground sinks. We did have our furnace fail to operate, but a call to Touring Cars helped us solve the problem. We needed to reset the electrical system. As previously mentioned, Touring Cars was very helpful. They did call us about high winds in Vik.

It is important to be fully alert when making your initial check of the vehicle. Take a lot of pictures. You need to try everything (even the gray water release valve!) and be very careful about all blemishes. Open the drawers and doors, look around the cushions, carefully inspect the exterior. There can be a lot of hidden damage.

Check-in was a little trying. It took almost 2 hours for them to finish the inspection - we passed, by the way. So allow for the extra time.

In short, Touring Cars treated us fairly and provided everything we requested. We would rent with them again.

One thing about campgrounds - especially if you are camping in the late spring or early summer - there may not be anyone in the office to take your fee. Just wait a bit and someone usually comes around and knocks on your door. This is very different from campgrounds in the US - much more relaxed! Get the camping card, too.

PS: Bring your own GPS with Icelandic maps. We did and never had any problems finding anything.

posted on 1 October 2012, vendor was Touring Cars

We had truly a fantastic trip thanks to having this fantastic camper available to us. The service was very good. Thanks for making this a memorable trip.

posted on 28 July 2012, vendor was McRent Iceland

In a period of 16 days we did the tour of iceland with a motorhome. This was our first motorhome experience and it was very positive. We found the motorhome to be the ideal way to do this kind of roundtrip with our family (2 adults and 3 kids between 7 and 12y). Our experience with booking and collecting/drop of is also positive. The fact that, during our trip, we were informed regularly on potential heavy wind hazards gave us a comfortable feeling.

posted on 17 August 2011, vendor was Touring Cars

Our personal experience was very positive; everything was fine, from rental service to travelling and camping.

Camper rental is very good idea for travelling around Iceland, except if you are planning going deeply inland. Campsites are correct and well placed. For Reykjavik, the boy scout's camp is the best.

We get no troubles when picking up or dropping off the car. Information obtained with the car was correct. The car was 1 year old, so no problems with hardware.

We're wondering about our next travel on a motorhome...

BARCELONA, SPAIN, posted on 12 September 2010, vendor was Touring Cars

 

 

 

 

 

Our customers are welcome to add their own reviews here.